Jam On It: The 10 Worst Players to Win the NBA Slam Dunk Contest

« Prev
1 of 11
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
Jam On It: The 10 Worst Players to Win the NBA Slam Dunk Contest

As another Slam Dunk Contest approaches, we anticipate some lesser know players making a name for themselves.

The first Slam Dunk Contest took place in 1976 at the ABA All-Star Game. Julius Erving took off from the free-throw line and altered basketball history forever.

As the ABA and NBA merged, the Slam Dunk Contest disappeared, but in 1984 the contest was added to the NBA All-Star Weekend.

Some of the greatest stars in the NBA have electrified fans with mindbending dunks in the contest. In 1987 and 1988, Michael Jordan and Dominique Wilkins squared off in a couple of epic slam dunk duels.

The 2000 Slam Dunk Contest saw Vince Carter defeat his cousin, Tracy McGrady, and Steve Francis in one of the best showdowns in slam dunk history.

Dwight Howard jumped into a phone booth in 2008 and came out as Superman as he flew over the paint and jammed home a Slam Dunk Contest win.

At the 2009 contest, LeBron James thrilled fans by announcing he would enter the 2010 Slam Dunk Contest.

LeBron has since gone back on his word, leaving us with former dunk champ Nate Robinson, Shannon Brown, Gerald Wallace, and a contestant yet to be named.

The interesting change made this year is a Dunk In to name the final contestant. DeMar DeRozan will go head to head with Eric Gordan to decide who will fill the final spot.

This roster of lesser names brings to mind some of the low-level players that have gained notoriety by winning the contest. Here are the 10 worst players to win the NBA Slam Dunk Contest.

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.