Mets To Induct Four New Members To Its Franchise Hall Of Fame

Double G SportsCorrespondent IJanuary 19, 2010

CHICAGO - 1990:  Dwight Gooden #16 of the New York Mets delivers a pitch during a game against the Chicago Cubs in 1990 at Wrigley field in Chicago, Illinois.  (Photo by Jonathan Daniel/Getty Images)
Jonathan Daniel/Getty Images

The New York Mets will open a new Hall of Fame and Museum inside Citi Field this season and it will include four new members. The team announced Dwight Gooden, Darryl Strawberry, Davey Johnson and Frank Cashen would be inducted into the franchise Hall of Fame.

The induction will take place August 1, 2010 before the Mets play the Arizona Diamondbacks at Citi Field. These four men are the first inductees into the teams' Hall of Fame since 2002 when Tommie Agee received the honor.

Gooden, Strawberry, Johnson and Cashen represent the dominant teams of the 1980's.

Continue Reading This Article...