Formula 1: Provisional 2009 Calendar Announced

Ben AutySenior Writer IJune 25, 2008

The FIA have released the 2009 provisional calendar and there maybe a few surprises on there.

The season has been increased to 19 races now, good news for us guys, one more round of mouth watering action.

Australia will kick off the proceedings. The British Grand Prix survives another year and has switched dates with the France race. So France is still a factor although which track it will be raced at isn't known yet. Will Magny-Cours live to fight another day or will we see the Paul Ricard circuit getting its chance?

In another slight change, the Turkish Grand Prix is now back to its usual place in August rather than early May like it was this season. Finally the season will now draw to a close not with Brazil like we all know and love, but now at the newly commissioned Abu Dhabi Race Track.

So below is the full 2009 season calendar. It's now time to book your holidays with your boss at work.

2009 FIA Formula One World Championship calendar (provisional)

  • 29 March Australia
  • 5 April Malaysia
  • 19 April Bahrain
  • 10 May Spain
  • 24 May Monaco
  • 7 June Canada
  • 21 June Great Britain
  • 28 June France
  • 12 July Germany
  • 26 July Hungary
  • 9 August Turkey
  • 23 August Europe (Valencia)
  • 6 September Italy
  • 13 September Belgium
  • 27 September Singapore
  • 11 October Japan
  • 18 October China
  • 1 November Brazil
  • 15 November Abu Dhabi

* (Provisional calendar and this is subject to change.)

So what do you think? Happy at the changes or annoyed with any of them? This is your platform, your opinion.