College Football: The 11 Best 11s Final Edition And Bowl Review

« Prev
1 of 9
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
College Football: The 11 Best 11s Final Edition And Bowl Review

The argumentative nature of the college football game lends itself to never-ending discussions regarding who is the true national champion.

Boise State won 14 games this season and lost none. The closest margin of victory was seven points, over undefeated Texas Christian in the Fiesta Bowl.

Without a playoff system, there will always be a debate concerning who is truly the strongest team in the nation.

If you began following college football in 1998 or later, as have so many of the younger fans, the only system of determining a title winner has been the Bowl Championship Series.

Fans who became interested in the game during the era of the late 1970s to the late 90's recall the method of endorsements by newspapers and a collection of coaches who gathered after the final bowl game and cast their votes for the best team.

This resulted in several split decisions concerning who was actually the champion.

The years 1997, 1991, and 1990 demonstrate how different people can watch the same action but arrive at conflicting conclusions.

In 1990 the coaches voted Georgia Tech national champion, while the writers voted for Colorado. In '91 the writers went for Miami, the coaches for Washington.

The 1997 split title between Nebraska and Michigan led directly to the creation of the BCS system the following season.

The following is a review of the ups and downs of this bowl season and the resulting final ranking of the top teams.

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook

SEC Football

Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.