2009 NFL Season Awards

Football ManiaxsSenior Writer IJanuary 6, 2010

SAN DIEGO - JANUARY 03:  Quarterback Philip Rivers #17 of the San Diego Chargers drops back to pass against the Washington Redskins in the first quarter at Qualcomm Stadium on January 3, 2010 in San Diego, California.  (Photo by Jeff Gross/Getty Images)
Jeff Gross/Getty Images

By Derek Lofland.

Now that every team has played 16 games, it is time to give out some hardware.

Who was the MVP of the League? Who was the Coach of the Year? What players were the best at their respective position?  

Here would be my votes for the various NFL awards.


Philip Rivers (San Diego Chargers)

I am pretty certain he is not going to win it and that when the votes are tallied, the NFL writers will have given Indianapolis Colts QB Peyton Manning an award he does not deserve.

In Rivers' last 10 games of the season he went 209-for-304 with 2,735 passing yards, 23 touchdown passes, six interceptions and a QB rating of 113.9 while leading his team to an 11-0 record and bringing them from 3.5 games back in their division to earn a first round bye.  

Manning, on the other hand, in his last 10 games had 237 completions in 356 passing attempts, a 66.6 completion percentage, 2,620 passing yards, 18 passing touchdowns, 12 interceptions and a QB rating of 91.0. 

Manning had only two games in his last 10 with a QB rating over 100.00; Rivers had six. Rivers was the best quarterback in the NFL the second half of the season and over 22 points better in the QB rating. I would give him my MVP vote; he was most responsible for saving the San Diego Chargers' season and giving them a first round bye.


Offensive Player of the Year

Chris Johnson (Tennessee Titans)

Johnson had a very historic season for a team that became the first one in NFL history to finish .500 after starting the season 0-6. Johnson had 2,006 yards rushing, 503 yards receiving, a NFL record 2,509 yards from scrimmage and 16 touchdowns. He closed the season with 11 consecutive 100-yard games, a mark that has only been eclipsed by former Detroit Lions Hall of Fame RB Barry Sander’s 14 consecutive games in 1997. Johnson was the best offensive player in the NFL this year...

Full article >>>