Indianapolis Colts logoIndianapolis Colts

NFL MVP Shocker: Favre Wins, Manning and Brees Tied For Second?

MINNEAPOLIS, MN - DECEMBER 13:  Brett Favre #4 of the Minnesota Vikings calls a play against the Cincinnati Bengals on December 13, 2009 at Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome in Minneapolis, Minnesota. The Vikings defeated the Bengals 30-10.  (Photo by Jim McIsaac/Getty Images)
Jim McIsaac/Getty Images
Andrew BenjaminContributor IJanuary 6, 2010

Throw the stat sheets out. Light the intangibles on fire. "Third Party" candidate Brett Favre is your 2009 NFL MVP.

With 50 votes up for grabs in the metaphorical smoke-filled room of the AP Sports Writers group, Favre will carry the day with a modest win. Favre will garner a mere 15 votes to take home the top AP individual honor.

In a shocking turn of events, a bloc of 28 AP writers will split 14-14 between Brees and Manning making them co-runners-up; with the remaining votes falling to Charger QB, Phillip Rivers, with 5, and Titans' RB, Chris Johnson, picking up the last 2.

Insiders will claim that it was impossible to distinguish between the stats and respective value to the team of both Manning and Brees, and so, that bloc of 28 voters employing the very same matrix will result in a tie.

Some will claim that the last two weeks of pseudo-exhibition play hurt the chances of both runners-up. Also cited, will be Manning's penchant for throwing picks. Favre, who posted arguably his best career stats, including a critic silencing touchdown to interception ratio, finished the season with a 107.2 QB rating and will become the NFL’s only four time MVP winner.

Favre’s rookie WR, Percy Harvin, took home Offensive Rookie of the Year honors earlier today with 41 out of 50 votes. Favre’s award seems only fitting given Harvin’s success. Fans and critics alike will storm the internet to weigh in on the event.

Where can I comment?

Stay on your game

Latest news, insights, and forecasts on your teams across leagues.

Choose Teams
Get it on the App StoreGet it on Google Play

Real-time news for your teams right on your mobile device.

Copyright © 2017 Bleacher Report, Inc. Turner Broadcasting System, Inc. All Rights Reserved. is part of Bleacher Report – Turner Sports Network, part of the Turner Sports and Entertainment Network. Certain photos copyright © 2017 Getty Images. Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of Getty Images is strictly prohibited. AdChoices