Kahne Wins Pole; Three Regulars Go Home

Mike DiMauroSenior Writer IJune 20, 2008

Kasey Kahne had luck on his side on Friday at Infineon. He got his first pole at a road course. Kahne has been pretty well when he got the pole position. Fifty percent of the time that Kahne got the pole, he manages to get the win that same weekend. Take a look at Pocono two weeks ago for example. Rounding out the top five will be Jimmie Johnson, Kurt Busch, Bobby Labonte and Jeff Gordon.

Marcus Ambrose will make his Sprint Cup debut at the seventh spot in the #21 Little Debbie's Ford.

It's been a while since both the #43 and #45 have made the top 11 together. You can thank the Labonte brothers for that success. Bobby will be starting from fourth and Terry will be starting from eleventh spot.

The surprise of the day came from Tony Stewart. He qualified for the race in the 39th spot. On Sunday though, expect Stewart to gain those spots and contending for that first win of 2008!

Not too bad today for the road course ringers. Along with Ambrose at seventh and Terry Labonte at eleventh, here's how the other ringers did. Boris Said will start in 14th. Ron Fellows, filling in for Regan Smith this week in the #01, will start in 22th. Scott Pruett, filling in for Reed Sorenson this week in the #41, will start in 27th. Max Papis will start in 28th. Patrick Carpentier will start in 37th. Brian Simo will start in 43rd.

Along with Ambrose, Terry Labonte, Said, Papis, Carpentier, and Simo, Here's how the other go or go home drivers did. Joe Nemechek will start in 24th and A.J. Allmindinger will start in 36th. J.J. Yeley, Scott Riggs, Dario Franchitti, and Brandon Ash all did not make the race for Sunday.

The race on Sunday will begin at 5PM (ET). Coverage will begin at 4PM (ET) on PRN and Sirius and at 3:30PM (ET) on TNT.