Minnesota VikingsDownload App

Peyton Manning and Brett Favre Aiming for MVP No. 3.5

Zeke FuhrmanAnalyst IIIAugust 9, 2016

For the entire 2009 NFL season, there have been three major candidates for league MVP: New Orleans QB Drew Brees, Indianapolis QB Peyton Manning, and Minnesota QB Brett Favre.

While Brees has had an incredible season so far (3,832 yards, 33 TD, 11 INT), the real story comes down to Favre and Manning.

Favre and Manning are tied for the NFL record in MVP awards won. Although they each have won the award three times, they technically both have 2.5. Manning won the award in 2003, 2004, and 2008. However he shared it with Steve McNair in 2003.

Likewise, Favre won in 1995, 1996, and 1997, but he shared it in 1997 with Barry Sanders.

Therefore, by splitting one of their awards in half, they each have 2.5.

Brees is still searching for his first.

Manning has the Colts at 14-0 for the first time in franchise history (third time in league history: 1972 Miami Dolphins and 2007 New England Patriots...both teams finished regular season undefeated) and is riding a 23-game winning streak.

Favre has undoubtedly earned the NFL Comeback Player of the Year and has led the Vikings to more wins this season (11) than they won last year (10) with three games left.

Favre has thrown for 3,341 yards, 27 touchdowns and 6 INT, while Manning has thrown for 4,213 yards, 33 TD and 15 INT.

Where can I comment?

Stay on your game

Latest news, insights, and forecasts on your teams across leagues.

Choose Teams
Get it on the App StoreGet it on Google Play

Real-time news for your teams right on your mobile device.

Copyright © 2017 Bleacher Report, Inc. Turner Broadcasting System, Inc. All Rights Reserved. BleacherReport.com is part of Bleacher Report – Turner Sports Network, part of the Turner Sports and Entertainment Network. Certain photos copyright © 2017 Getty Images. Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of Getty Images is strictly prohibited. AdChoices