Amos Alonzo Stagg Bowl: It's Deja Vu All Over Again...and Again.

« Prev
1 of 22
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
Amos Alonzo Stagg Bowl: It's Deja Vu All Over Again...and Again.

For the fifth straight year, the University of Wisconsin-Whitewater (14-0) will matchup with Mount Union College (14-0) in the Amos Alonzo Stagg Bowl for the Division III Football Championship on Saturday, Dec. 19 at 11am ET/10am CST, on ESPN2.

UW-Whitewater's campus is located about an hour southwest of Milwaukee, while Mount Union is on the eastern side of Ohio in the city of Alliance.

The UWW Warhawks play in the Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (WIAC), and the Mount Union Purple Raiders compete in the Ohio Athletic Conference (OAC).

Mount Union has been the superior team in D-III Football for years, and has proven it by winning a record 10 Stagg Bowls since its inception in 1973.

The Purple Raiders have appeared in 13 Bowls, starting with their first in 1993. They have won six titles since 2000, and have two three-peat championships.

UW-Whitewater is relatively new to the Stagg Bowl, but have now appeared in the last five, matching up with a familiar foe in Mount Union each time.

If you think the Yankees and Red Sox hate each other, what do these two schools think about each other? Five years in a row...really?

While UWW was victorious in 2007, Mount Union seems to own UWW, winning three of the last four years.

2005: Mount Union 35, UW-Whitewater 28
2006: Mount Union 35, UW-Whitewater 16
2007: UW-Whitewater 31, Mount Union 21
2008: Mount Union 31, UW-Whitewater 26
2009: ???

Let's break these two teams down.

*All player photos are from each school's athletic website.

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook

College Football

Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.