Breaking News: Mark Ingram Wins 2009 Heisman Trophy

Vincent JacksonCorrespondent IDecember 12, 2009

ATLANTA - DECEMBER 5:  Mark Ingram #22 of the Alabama Crimson Tide celebrates after Alabama won 32-13 against the Florida Gators during the SEC Championship game at Georgia Dome on December 5, 2009 in Atlanta, Georgia.  (Photo by Kevin C. Cox/Getty Images)
Kevin C. Cox/Getty Images

In the closest race ever, Alabama Crimson Tide sophomore running back Mark Ingram has won the 75th Heisman Trophy Award tonight in New York City.

Ingram becomes the third consecutive sophomore to win the award and the first Alabama player to win in school history.

28 total votes separated Ingram from Stanford running back Toby Gerhart, the tightest finish in the award's history. 

Ingram received 227 first place votes (1304 points) while Gerhart received 222 votes (1276 points).

Texas quarterback Colt McCoy was third, Nebraska defensive tackle Ndamukong Suh finished fourth, and Florida quarterback Tim Tebow placed last.