UNC Basketball logoUNC Basketball

North Carolina Tar Heels Named 2008-09 NCAA Champions

Matt SmithSenior Analyst IJune 16, 2008

In a strange turn of events, the NCAA Basketball committee has forfeited the 2008-09 season while declaring the North Carolina Tar Heels national champions.

This announcement was made just hours after Junior forward Danny Green and Sophomore guards Wayne Ellington and Tywon Lawson pulled their names out of the 2008 NBA draft.

"Well the decision was made pretty easily," stated NCAA president Myles Brand, "We didn't want the Heels to embarrass the all of the other teams in the NCAA, so we decided to forfeit everyone's season and give them the championship. We all know they're going to win it anyway."

Coach Williams, while still wearing his Kansas sticker, didn't fully agree with the president.

"We all know what can go dadgum wrong during the course of a season, but at least I finally won a championship with my own players!"

Without the upcoming basketball season, Seniors Bobby Frasor and National Player of the Year Tyler Hansbrough are rumored to be trying out for the school's diving team.

"Uh, its a whole lot better than jumping off ledges into tiny pools," said Hansbrough.

But in all honesty, this team will be loaded. Three deep at every position, returning their top six players from a 36-win team, and adding three McDonald's All-Americans, the Heels look to bring their fifth NCAA championship back to the Hill.

While every Carolina fan, including myself, believe that we will win a championship every year, 2008-09 looks like its shaping up very nicely.

Where can I comment?

Stay on your game

Latest news, insights, and forecasts on your teams across leagues.

Choose Teams
Get it on the App StoreGet it on Google Play

Real-time news for your teams right on your mobile device.

Copyright © 2017 Bleacher Report, Inc. Turner Broadcasting System, Inc. All Rights Reserved. BleacherReport.com is part of Bleacher Report – Turner Sports Network, part of the Turner Sports and Entertainment Network. Certain photos copyright © 2017 Getty Images. Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of Getty Images is strictly prohibited. AdChoices