College World Series: 55 Years Of ACC-Championship Drought Likely Will End

BobAnalyst IJune 14, 2008

It has been 55-years since an Atlantic Coast Conference team has won a National Championship in the sport of baseball.

The ACC has been less than stellar in years past, coming close but not raising a National Championship trophy in Omaha, NE for the entire time the championship has been held there.

Not to say the ACC does not stand a good chance or that they haven't had opportunities in the years past.

North Carolina has swept their regional and super regional for the past three years. The first two of this streak resulted as runner-up in the series to Oregon State. With Oregon State not making the series this year, do they stand a chance?

There are three ACC teams ranked amongst the top four of this year's college world series.

Miami (Fl.), Florida State, and North Carolina will all make their own attempt at breaking the over a half-century drought that has faced the conference.

Wake Forest won the ACC's only CWS championship back in 1955 in it's second and last appearance in the series. They now play in a stadium that holds 1,000 fans and almost never contend for the ACC Championship.

Miami (Fl.) has won 5 titles in Omaha, NE. Their last was in 2001, but was before they had become members of the ACC.

Clemson has made 11 appearances in Omaha, their last coming in 2006. Duke has made 3 appearances in Omaha, their last coming in 1961. Florida State has made 8 appearances as an ACC team including this season, 18 in total.

Georgia Tech has made 3 appearances. Miami has appeared two times as an ACC team and 22 appearances as a team overall.

North Carolina State has appeared only once in Omaha, during their 1968 season.

These ACC teams combine for 33 appearances in the past 55 years and have only one title among them. The streak could run to 36 this year if the Seminoles, Hurricanes and Tar Heels come up short.

Miami (Fl.) is seeded no. 1 in this year's series, North Carolina is seeded no. 2, and Florida State is seeded no. 4.