Toronto Blue Jays logoToronto Blue Jays

Another Roy Halladay Cy Young Calibre Season

Ian HunterCorrespondent INovember 17, 2009
I hate to say it...but for the fourth year in a row, Roy Halladay crafted another Cy Young calibre season and had nothing to show for it.


The Baseball Writers Association of America did the right thing by giving the Cy Young to Zack Greinke. Though not your typical runaway candidate, Greinke did everything right on a team that played so horribly wrong throughout the season. Greinke didn't have an impressive win/loss record, however he certainly made up for it all other categories.

The voting went down pretty much as expected, but I would have liked to see Doc finish a little higher than fifth place. Ultimately, I guess it doesn't really matter because you either win the Cy Young award or you don't—there isn't any purple fifth-place-finish ribbon like there was at the track & field meet in public school.

Out of all the votes, the one that stands out like a sore thumb was the ballot which included Justin Verlander as a first place vote. This is just another example of a voter not digging deeper into the statistics and only scratching the surface and looking and win/loss and strikeouts. For shame!

Even though the Roy Halladay trophy case won't have any new additions this year, I commend him on another fantastic season and in my heart he will always be a Cy Young award winner.

Where can I comment?

Stay on your game

Latest news, insights, and forecasts on your teams across leagues.

Choose Teams
Get it on the App StoreGet it on Google Play

Real-time news for your teams right on your mobile device.

Copyright © 2017 Bleacher Report, Inc. Turner Broadcasting System, Inc. All Rights Reserved. is part of Bleacher Report – Turner Sports Network, part of the Turner Sports and Entertainment Network. Certain photos copyright © 2017 Getty Images. Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of Getty Images is strictly prohibited. AdChoices