Chris Coghlan, Andrew Bailey Announced as MLB Rookie of the Year Winners

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more stories
Chris Coghlan, Andrew Bailey Announced as MLB Rookie of the Year Winners
Doug Pensinger/Getty Images

The National League and American League Rookie of the Year Awards were handed out this afternoon, both of which had most baseball fans asking, "Who the heck is that?"

The National League honors went to Florida Marlin outfielder Chris Coghlan.

Coghlan hit .321 during his first season, with 162 hits, nine home runs, 47 driven in, and an .850 on-base plus slugging percentage in 504 at-bats.

The Florida native finished with 17 first-place votes.

Runner-up in the National League was the Philadelphia Phillie southpaw J.A. Happ, who received 10 first-place votes.

In the American League, Andrew Bailey of the Oakland Athletics took the prize.

Called up in late April, Bailey took over Oakland's full-time closer role in early May and never looked back.

During the season, he managed to break former A's closer Huston Street's record for saves by an Oakland rookie.

He was also the only Athletic named to the All-Star Game held in St. Louis back in July.

Bailey's final stat line for 2009 read 26 saves, a 1.84 earned run average, 91 strikeouts, and a .167 batting average against in 83.1 innings pitched.

Young Texas Ranger phenom Elvis Andrus came in second in the AL voting with eight first-place votes.

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.