Brad Keselowski, Team Penske Agree to Contract Extension

Joseph Zucker@@JosephZuckerFeatured ColumnistJuly 25, 2017

Brad Keselowski gets ready to get into his car during a practice session for the Clash NASCAR auto race at Daytona International Speedway, Friday, Feb. 17, 2017, in Daytona Beach, Fla. (AP Photo/Terry Renna)
Terry Renna/Associated Press

Team Penske announced Tuesday it reached a multiyear extension with Brad Keselowski, who will continue to drive the No. 2 Ford Fusion.       

"In the time that Brad has driven for Team Penske, he has risen to the top echelon of stars in NASCAR," Roger Penske said. "Brad and [crew chief Paul Wolfe] have established a terrific, winning combination, and they are both real leaders within our team. More than just wins and championships, Brad is an important part our relationship with Ford Performance, and his work with the Checkered Flag Foundation shows what kind of person he is away from the track. There is no question he continues to be a great fit for our organization."

Joey Logano, Keselowski's Team Penske teammate, reacted to news of the deal:

Logano signed a five-year extension with Penske in February that will keep him with the team until 2023, so Keselowski's new contract gives it a lot of long-term security.

Keselowski signed with Team Penske in 2009 and began driving for it during the 2010 season. 

In 2012,'s David Newton detailed how Discount Tire played an instrumental role in bringing Keselowski under the Team Penske umbrella. The company approached Penske about a partnership but would only agree to a deal if Penske brought Keselowski aboard. In the words of Newton, Penske had previously told Keselowski "thanks but no thanks" when offered the opportunity to sign him.

"Without [Discount Tire] doing that, I don't go to Penske Racing," Keselowski said.

Signing Keselowski has proved to be a huge success for Penske. He has registered 22 Monster Energy NASCAR Cup wins since joining the team and claimed the 2012 points title. He was also the 2010 Nationwide Series champion—his last full year on the circuit.