The All-Motorsport Power Rankings: Week 39

« Prev
1 of 17
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
The All-Motorsport Power Rankings: Week 39

As Dario Franchitti crossed the finish line to win a Homestead and take the Indycar crown, his mind was not on his glory and the chance get his hands on the title and trophy for the second time in three years.

They were of his "buddy, Greg (Moore)," who was killed in a Champ Car title decider 10 years ago this month. Had that day in Fontana never happened, Moore probably would have been racing Dario, Scott Dixon, and Ryan Briscoe for the title (had he not been whisked to another series).

It was a moment when you realized not every driver is an emotionless machine, in a season that has seen more than its share of tragedy and scares.

The Power Rankings are an occasional feature on Midweek Motorsport on Radio Le Mans, every Wednesday at 8:00 pm UK, 3:00 pm Eastern, 12:00 pm Pacific, and on iTunes for whenever you jolly well feel like it.

Begin Slideshow »
Load More Stories

Follow B/R on Facebook

Out of Bounds

NASCAR

Subscribe Now

We will never share your email address

Thanks for signing up.