Golden State Warriors head coach Steve Kerr was as confused as the viewing public when it came to the referees' decision to assess him a technical foul that had originally been announced for Draymond Green in the first quarter of Game 4 on Friday.
"I thought they called it on Draymond," Kerr told reporters after the 137-116 loss, according to Bleacher Report's Howard Beck. "I thought I deserved it."
95.7 The Game captured video of Kerr's comments:
95.7 Dubs Radio @957thegame
Steve Kerr on technical foul confusion. Said he thought he deserved 1st tech but heard PA guy say Draymond. Thought Green was ejected on #2. https://t.co/a4JdvIrmeJ2017-6-10 04:30:20
Because the public address announcer and scorer's table logged the first-quarter technical as Green's infraction, the Warriors forward appeared to get ejected when he was slapped with a technical foul in the third quarter for arguing a call.
However, shortly after Green picked up the tech, officials convened and corrected the initial ruling to reflect that Kerr had actually been called for the first one.
But despite Green's active mouth and the fact that he hit Iman Shumpert in the face jockeying for position after a jump ball in the first quarter, Kerr expressed optimism his forward would be good to go for Monday's Game 5.
"Last year is last year and this year is this year," he said, according to ESPN.com's Baxter Holmes. "I'm pretty sure Draymond won't get suspended for Game 5. Maybe he will, I don't know."
When pressed to assess the referees' overall performance on a night when the Warriors were whistled for 27 personal fouls, Kerr refused to take the bait and flirt with a fine from the league office.
"Nice try," he said, according to the Bay Area News Group's Anthony Slater.