ICC Champions Trophy 2017: Pakistan Beat South Africa After Rain Suspends Match

Gianni VerschuerenFeatured ColumnistJune 7, 2017

Pakistan fans celebrate a four in light rain during the ICC Champions trophy match between Pakistan and South Africa at Edgbaston in Birmingham on June 7, 2017. / AFP PHOTO / PAUL ELLIS / RESTRICTED TO EDITORIAL USE        (Photo credit should read PAUL ELLIS/AFP/Getty Images)
PAUL ELLIS/Getty Images

Another rain-soaked match saw Pakistan grab their first win of the 2017 ICC Champions Trophy on Wednesday, beating South Africa by 19 runs via the D/L method.

The Proteas had been held to 219/8 in their innings, and Pakistan had cruised to a total of 119/3 through 27 overs when play was stopped. The rain never ceased, and late in the evening, the decision was made to suspend play.

South Africa's' innings couldn't have gone much worse, as star batsman AB de Villiers was bowled for a golden duck. Per cricket writer Mazher Arshad, this had never happened to the 33-year-old before:

It set the tone for a dominant innings from Pakistan's spinners, who kept the ER well down, and the pace bowlers, who finished with five wickets.

David Miller scored an unbeaten 75 to pace the Proteas' innings, but his team-mates fell flat, with only Quinton de Kock (33 from 49 balls) bagging more than 30 runs.

Hasan Ali stole the show for Pakistan, taking three wickets in eight overs. The total of 219 seemed very low, although Freddie Wilde of CricViz noted South Africa have successfully defended such scores against Pakistan before:

And the Proteas started the second innings well with the ball, dismissing Azhar Ali (nine from 22 balls) and Fakhar Zaman (31 from 23) relatively early.

But Pakistan picked up the pace toward the middle overs and ducked under the required run rate shortly before the rain delay, with 27 overs played and the team 19 runs ahead if the D/L method kicked in.

While the Pakistan fans remained hopeful of more cricket, with the clouds seemingly on the verge of clearing multiple times, the organisation eventually decided against a return to the pitch.

Next up are India and Sri Lanka who will take to the pitch on Thursday at the Oval in London.