Charles Woodson, Mack Brown Headline 2018 College Football Hall of Fame Ballot

Timothy RappFeatured ColumnistJune 1, 2017

Georgia Tech receiver Calvin Johnson (21) tries to break free from Miami's Lovon Ponder (35) after a catch in the fourth quarter of a football game in Atlanta, Saturday, Oct. 28, 2007.  Georgia Tech won 30-23. (AP Photo/John Bazemore)
JOHN BAZEMORE/Associated Press

The 2018 College Football Hall of Fame ballot was announced on Thursday, which included "75 players and six coaches from the Football Bowl Subdivision and 98 players and 31 coaches from the divisional ranks," according to the National Football Foundation.

Highlights of the list include former Texas coach Mack Brown, former Georgia Tech and Detroit Lions wideout Calvin Johnson, Hall of Fame running back Eric Dickerson, California and Kansas City Chiefs tight end Tony Gonzalez, Miami and Baltimore Ravens linebacker Ray Lewis, USC and Pittsburgh Steelers safety Troy Polamalu, Miami and Baltimore Ravens safety Ed Reed, Miami and Tampa Bay Buccaneers defensive tackle Warren Sapp, Mississippi and San Francisco 49ers linebacker Patrick Willis and former Heisman Trophy winner Charles Woodson. 

NFF president and CEO Steve Hatchell talked about the small pool of players even capable of being selected to the College Football Hall of Fame:

"It’s an enormous honor to just be on the ballot when you think that more than 5.19 million people have played college football and only 987 players have been inducted. The Hall’s requirement of being a First-Team All-American creates a much smaller pool of only 1,500 individuals who are even eligible. So being in today’s elite group means an individual is truly among the greatest to ever have played the game, and we are extremely proud to announce their names. 

The 2018 class will be announced on Monday, Jan. 8 in Atlanta preceding the College Football Playoff National Championship Game and officially inducted at the NFF Annual Awards Dinner later that year on Dec. 4.