Phil Heath, Dexter Jackson and Top Contestants Competing at 2016 Mr. Olympia

Joe Pantorno@@JoePantornoFeatured ColumnistSeptember 17, 2016

MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA - MARCH 16:  Mr Olympia Phil Heath poses during a media call ahead of the 2012 IFBB Australian Pro Grand Prix XIII on March 16, 2012 in Melbourne, Australia.  (Photo by Robert Cianflone/Getty Images)
Robert Cianflone/Getty Images

The performance and fitness world will descend upon the Orleans Arena in Las Vegas for the 52nd edition of the Mr. Olympia finals, one of the most coveted events in bodybuilding. 

On Saturday night, beginning at 10 p.m. ET, 24 of the world's most impressive bodybuilders from 10 different countries will take the stage as the headliners of Joe Weider's Olympia Fitness & Performance Weekend:

2016 Mr. Olympia Competitors
William BonacNetherlands
Maxx CharlesUnited States
Justin ComptonUnited States
Brandon CurryUnited States
Nathan DeAshaUnited Kingdom
Mamdouh ElssbiayEgypt
Phil HeathUnited States
Dexter JacksonUnited States
Steve KucloUnited States
Josh LenartowiczAustralia
Kevin LevroneUnited States
Michael LockettUnited States
Victor MartinezDominican Republic
Dallas McCarverUnited States
Cedric McMillanUnited States
Lukas OsladilCzech Republic
Ben PakulskiCanada
Shawn RhodenUnited States
Ronny RockelGermany
Fred SmallsUnited States
Akim WilliamsUnited States
Roelly WinklaarCuracao
Dennis WolfGermany

All eyes, though, are going to be on Phil Heath, who is the five-time defending champion dating back to 2011. 

He is just one of five men to ever win the competition five or more times and with a win on Saturday, Heath could tie Dorian Yates for fourth-most Mr. Olympia wins of all time with six. 

Yates, who hailed from Great Britain, won his six titles all in succession from 1992-1997. 

Even with five titles under his belt, Heath has shown no signs of slowing down:


There is also one other former Mr. Olympia who will be in the field in Dexter Jackson, who took the title in 2008. 

His win halted the run of Jay Cutler, who won from 2006 to 2007 and 2009 to 2010:

Jackson also finished in second last year to Heath. 

He will turn 47 years old in November, but Jackson is still putting up wins in 2016, with victories at the New York Pro and Arnold Classic South Africa. Expect for him to be in contention on Saturday as well.