ChelseaDownload App

Diego Costa Charged with Improper Conduct vs. Everton: Latest Details, Comments

Chelsea's Brazilian-born Spanish striker Diego Costa (2nd R) and Everton's English midfielder Gareth Barry clash in the incident leading to Costa's second yellow card during the English FA cup quarter-final football match between Everton and Chelsea at Goodison Park in Liverpool, north west England on March 12, 2016. / AFP / Paul ELLIS / RESTRICTED TO EDITORIAL USE. No use with unauthorized audio, video, data, fixture lists, club/league logos or 'live' services. Online in-match use limited to 75 images, no video emulation. No use in betting, games or single club/league/player publications.  /         (Photo credit should read PAUL ELLIS/AFP/Getty Images)
PAUL ELLIS/Getty Images
Gianni VerschuerenFeatured ColumnistMarch 14, 2016

The Football Association announced on Monday that Chelsea striker Diego Costa has been charged with improper conduct following an incident during an FA Cup quarter-final match against Everton on Saturday. 

The Spaniard clashed with Gareth Barry in the dying minutes of the 2-0 loss and appeared to make a biting motion, per Rob Harris of the Associated Press. Both players received a yellow card, which was Costa's second of the match.

Per the FA's official statement, they're interested in what Costa did after he received his red card, which likely means the charge has little to do with the alleged bite: "Diego Costa has been charged in relation to Chelsea’s FA Cup sixth round fixture against Everton on Saturday 12 March 2016. It is alleged his behaviour, after being shown a second yellow card in the game, [that] amounted to improper conduct."

Chelsea's Brazilian-born Spanish striker Diego Costa (C) is shown a red card by referee Michael Oliver during the English FA cup quarter-final football match between Everton and Chelsea at Goodison Park in Liverpool, north west England on March 12, 2016.
PAUL ELLIS/Getty Images

Chelsea released a statement denying Costa tried to bite his opponent, although he did show "regret" over his reaction: "Diego spoke to club officials after the game and expressed regret over his reaction to the challenge from Gareth Barry that led to his red card, but Diego was also very clear that he did not bite him at any point during that altercation."

Per Sky Sports News HQ, Barry later confirmed Costa did not bite him at any time:

According to the Daily Mirror's David Maddock, he instead faces a ban for his "aggressive attitude" during the incident, as well as his refusal to leave the pitch immediately and "continued aggression toward the referee." 

It marks the second time this season Costa has been charged by the FA, as he faced a similar charge after an incident with Arsenal's Gabriel Paulista back in September, per the Guardian's Dominic Fifield.

Per the FA's official website, the Blues ace will also have to "provide his observations" for an alleged gesture he made toward the fans at half-time. He has until 6 p.m. GMT on Thursday to respond to the charge.


Where can I comment?

Stay on your game

Latest news, insights, and forecasts on your teams across leagues.

Choose Teams
Get it on the App StoreGet it on Google Play

Real-time news for your teams right on your mobile device.

Copyright © 2017 Bleacher Report, Inc. Turner Broadcasting System, Inc. All Rights Reserved. is part of Bleacher Report – Turner Sports Network, part of the Turner Sports and Entertainment Network. Certain photos copyright © 2017 Getty Images. Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of Getty Images is strictly prohibited. AdChoices