Diego Costa Receives Red Card vs. Everton After Appearing to Bite Gareth Barry

Gianni VerschuerenFeatured Columnist

Chelsea's Brazilian-born Spanish striker Diego Costa (C) is shown a red card by referee Michael Oliver during the English FA cup quarter-final football match between Everton and Chelsea at Goodison Park in Liverpool, north west England on March 12, 2016. / AFP / Paul ELLIS / RESTRICTED TO EDITORIAL USE. No use with unauthorized audio, video, data, fixture lists, club/league logos or 'live' services. Online in-match use limited to 75 images, no video emulation. No use in betting, games or single club/league/player publications.  /         (Photo credit should read PAUL ELLIS/AFP/Getty Images)
PAUL ELLIS/Getty Images

Diego Costa was sent off during Chelsea's FA Cup meeting with Everton on Saturday after clashing with Gareth Barry, and TV replays showed he may have tried to bite the Toffees midfielder.

The Spain international had been booked earlier in the match, and both he and Barry received a yellow card after the confrontation late in the contest. Per Rob Harris of the Associated Press, we may not have heard the last of the incident:

Chelsea released a statement after the match about the incident:

Diego spoke to club officials after the game and expressed regret over his reaction to the challenge from Gareth Barry that led to his red card, but Diego was also very clear that he did not bite him at any point during that altercation.

On Sunday, Sky Sports News HQ revealed that Barry confirmed Costa did not bite him.

Bleacher Report's Garry Hayes shared his thoughts:

Everton won the match, 2-0. Per Harris, it was Costa's first red card as a member of the Blues.

Barry ended up taking an early shower as well, as he lashed out at Cesc Fabregas minutes after Costa was sent off.

Unsurprisingly, the incident caused quite an uproar on social media. Per Paul Hayward of the Daily Telegraph, it was only the latest in a long line of clashes involving the Spaniard:

ESPN FC's Tommy Smyth wasn't sure whether Costa bit his opponent or changed his mind just in time:

Barry didn't exaggerate the incident or reach for his neck, which only fueled discussion about what the Spaniard actually did.

Although Barry stated Costa didn't bite him, the encounter is sure to remind fans of Barcelona forward Luis Suarez, who was caught biting opponents on the pitch on three separate occasions.

Sport Witness noted Costa's punishment won't be as harsh as what was handed to Suarez, who was banned for four months and nine international matches:

Still, the Football Association will likely take a long, hard look at video of the confrontation to try to determine Costa's intent and whether or not he bit Barry.

Per Metro's Tom Olverthere were also questions about whether Costa intended to spit at the referee's feet earlier in the match, so regardless of the FA's decision regarding the altercation, it's possible he could miss a healthy chunk of playing time.