Twitter Reacts as Manchester City Include 6 Teenagers in Team to Play Chelsea

Tom WebbUK Staff WriterFebruary 21, 2016

MANCHESTER, ENGLAND - FEBRUARY 14: Manuel Pellegrini, Manager of Manchester City looks on during the Barclays Premier League match between Manchester City and Tottenham Hotspur at Etihad Stadium on February 14, 2016 in Manchester, England.  (Photo by Clive Brunskill/Getty Images)
Clive Brunskill/Getty Images

Manchester City manager Manuel Pellegrini caused a stir on Sunday when he picked six teenagers in his side to take on Chelsea in the fifth round of the FA Cup

The magic of the FA Cup https://t.co/EqILhMbE0n

— Bleacher Report UK (@br_uk) February 21, 2016

TEAM NEWS: Full debuts given to five players today! Congrats, lads! #chelseavcity #facup #mcfc pic.twitter.com/5yJOGBTqBb

— Manchester City FC (@MCFC) February 21, 2016

When Guus Hiddink sees the Manchester City teamsheet... https://t.co/Lvc5HkNRPh

— Bleacher Report UK (@br_uk) February 21, 2016

Four of Man City's starting eleven today played at the Bridge last season in the FA Youth Cup Final against Chelsea.

— Chelsea Youth (@chelseayouth) February 21, 2016

Luckily I worked on the youth cup final last year....but for most tuning in they'll hardly have heard of half the City players...

— Sam Matterface (@sammatterface) February 21, 2016

The reaction on Twitter was somewhat unimpressed:

Class lineup from Pellegrini. Punishing the FA for not rescheduling the game. He’s singlehandedly ruined the weekend’s top match.

— Registability (@registability) February 21, 2016

I cannot believe the team that Manchester City have put out.✋

— Geo Whiting (@GeorgeWhiting_) February 21, 2016

Manchester City's team 😳😳

— Jack Rowlands (@jackrowlands123) February 21, 2016

Man City taking the FA cup seriously with that team line up I see.

— Scott Eaglen (@ScottEaglen) February 21, 2016

Man City's team... pic.twitter.com/sw2WWezO4n

— Top Corner (@HITCtopcorner) February 21, 2016

Pellegrini cares a lot about FA Cup https://t.co/gydYJknNwE

— Tancredi Palmeri (@tancredipalmeri) February 21, 2016

Dat City team doe

— The Football Ramble (@FootballRamble) February 21, 2016

Chelsea just went from Evens to 1/2 after that line-up was released. Bookies might be in for a big loss

— Joe Krishnan (@joekrishnan) February 21, 2016

But not everyone was upset:

Chelsea fans when they see that Man City team... pic.twitter.com/zZrgKX4oUF

— BreatheSport (@BreatheSport) February 21, 2016

Photos taken seconds after players saw the City side https://t.co/Yo31mkuwu5

— Jack Lang (@jacklang) February 21, 2016

Very excited about today's game. Very young team to start with several debutants on show. Chance to learn, to develop & to shine #COYYB

— Paul Lake (@Paul_Lake) February 21, 2016

Actually excited to see what the youth can bring to the game today. Let's really get behind them and support them!! @MCFC #cityview

— em see eff see (@EllaTrow) February 21, 2016

Time to see what the kids can do.

[Twitter]