La Liga Table 2016: Latest Standings Following Friday's Week 24 Results

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more stories
La Liga Table 2016: Latest Standings Following Friday's Week 24 Results
Juan Manuel Serrano Arce/Getty Images

Sporting Gijon and Rayo Vallecano ran to a 2-2 draw at El Molinon on Friday evening as Week 24 of the Primera Division campaign got underway with two of its relegation strugglers jostling to move up the standings.

The two sides opened the Week 24 slate with a close encounter, where Barcelona loanee Alen Halilovic was among the scorers alongside team-mate Miguel Angel Guerrero. But equalisers from Miku and Jozabed were enough to secure a point for the visitors.

Real Madrid are in action early on Saturday as they play host to Athletic Bilbao, but both Barcelona and Atletico Madrid will wait until Sunday before resuming La Liga action, facing Celta Vigo and Getafe, respectively.

Read on for a recap of all Friday's action, along with a breakdown of the Primera Division's Week 24 schedule and a look at the updated La Liga standings.

2015-16 La Liga: Week 24 Scores and Fixtures
Date Home Score/K.O. Time Away
Friday, Feb. 12 Sporting Gijon 2-2 Rayo Vallecano
Saturday, Feb. 13 Real Madrid 3 p.m. GMT/10 a.m. ET Athletic Bilbao
Saturday, Feb. 13 Villarreal 5:15 p.m. GMT/12:15 p.m. ET Malaga
Saturday, Feb. 13 Valencia 7:30 p.m. GMT/2:30 p.m. ET Espanyol
Saturday, Feb. 13 Deportivo La Coruna 9:05 p.m. GMT/4:05 p.m. ET Real Betis
Sunday, Feb. 14 Real Sociedad 11 a.m. GMT/6 a.m. ET Granada
Sunday, Feb. 14 Sevilla 3 p.m. GMT/10 a.m. ET Las Palmas
Sunday, Feb. 14 Eibar 5:15 p.m. GMT/12:15 p.m. ET Levante
Sunday, Feb. 14 Getafe 5:15 p.m. GMT/12:15 p.m. ET Atletico Madrid
Sunday, Feb. 14 Barcelona 7:30 p.m. GMT/2:30 p.m. ET Celta Vigo

LigaBBVA.com

2015-16 La Liga Standings
Position Team P W D L GF GA GD Pts
1 Barcelona 22 17 3 2 56 17 +39 54
2 Atletico Madrid 23 16 3 4 34 11 +23 51
3 Real Madrid 23 15 5 3 66 21 +45 50
4 Villarreal 23 13 6 4 29 18 +11 45
5 Sevilla 23 10 7 6 32 24 +8 37
6 Athletic Club 23 10 5 8 33 30 +3 35
7 Celta Vigo 23 10 5 8 34 36 -2 35
8 Eibar 23 9 6 8 36 31 +5 33
9 Deportivo La Coruna 23 6 13 4 31 28 +3 31
10 Malaga 23 8 6 9 21 20 +1 30
11 Real Sociedad 23 7 6 10 31 34 -3 27
12 Getafe 23 7 5 11 26 35 -9 26
13 Real Betis 23 6 7 10 16 31 -15 25
14 Valencia 23 5 10 8 26 24 +2 25
15 Rayo Vallecano 24 6 6 12 32 49 -17 24
16 Sporting Gijon 23 6 5 12 26 38 -12 23
17 Espanyol 23 6 4 13 20 46 -26 22
18 Las Palmas 23 5 6 12 23 36 -13 21
19 Granada 23 5 5 13 25 46 -21 20
20 Levante 23 4 5 14 21 43 -22 17

LigaBBVA.com

 

Recap

Sporting were blessed to find themselves in front so early on Friday evening, but a mistake from right-back Quini saw Guerrero gifted the ball from just six yards out, and the striker repaid the favour by putting Sporting in front.

It was after just nine minutes that Halilovic came on as a substitute for the struggling Dani Ndi, and this change in particular would come to pay dividends for coach Abelardo Fernandez's side.

Manuel Queimadelos Alonso/Getty Images
Halilovic is enjoying his loan spell at Sporting Gijon.

There were clear deficiencies in the Sporting defence, however, when a splitting pass found Pablo Hernandez in space, and the Rayo winger squared a ball across to Miku, who made no mistake one-on-one.

The two teams came out level for the second period, but it took less than a minute for Sporting wide man Jony to slip Halilovic inside the Rayo area, and he slid in his side's second of the match. That being said, Inside La Liga writer Javier J. Hernandez noted the Barca youngster had improvements to make:

This time, Rayo's reply was far more swift, and an error in judgement from Sporting No. 1 Ivan Cuellar meant Jozabed had all the time he needed to equalise at 2-2 from the back post in the 58th minute. Broadcaster Deji Kofi Faremi pointed out Cuellar's mistake:

Rayo ended the match with almost 60 per cent of possession, per WhoScored.com, along with a greater share of the shooting opportunities, but the two teams could leave content with a share of the spoils.

Although the result means nothing in terms of table changes for either side, Sporting will be happy to see their recent unbeaten streak continue, while Rayo have now lost just once in their last seven games.

Follow B/R on Facebook

La Liga

Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.