Lack Of Star Recievers Make NFC East Anyone's Division to Win

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more stories
Lack Of Star Recievers Make NFC East Anyone's Division to Win
(Photo by Al Bello/Getty Images)

With the release of Plaxico Burress and Terrell Owens, there are no established star recievers left in the NFC East.

However, all four teams have recievers that are capable of having big years.

In Dallas, they are making former Detroit Lion Roy Williams their No. 1. He has proven he can put up big numbers but lacks consistency.

The Giants have first-round pick Hakeem Nicks to go with Steve Smith, who has shown great progress over his first two NFL seasons. People also tend to forget about Mario Manningham, who—had it not been for injuries and legal troubles at Michigan—would probably have been a first-round pick.

The Eagles got a great year last year out of rookie reciever DeSean Jackson. This year they hope to get the same production out of first-round pick Jeremy Maclin.

The Redskins still have Santana Moss, who has been very inconsistent. They are also hoping for a big season from second-year reciever Malcolm Kelly.

With every team having big question marks at the reciever position, this division will be wide open.

The rushing attack is also very equal across the board in this division.

Brandon Jacobs and Ahmad Bradshaw give the Giants two different running styles to keep opposing defenses off balance.

The same can be said in Dallas with Marion Barber and Felix Jones.

The addition of LeSean McCoy to the Eagles backfield should help to keep Brian Westbrook healthy and fresh late in the year.

And of course, Clinton Portis has quietly been one of the most consistent running backs in the league the last 5 years.

Eli Manning, Donovan McNabb, Tony Romo, and Jason Campbell are all in the same ballpark, too, meaning this division will likely come down to defense.

The addition of Albert Haynesworth may have been the biggest for any team this offseason and will undoubtedly make the Redskins a much stronger run-stopping team.

The Eagles will look for a repeat performance from their top-5 defense last season. The losses of Brian Dawkins and Lito Sheppard will hurt, though the acquisition of Ellis Hobbs should help to ease the pain.

Without a pick in the first two rounds of the draft, the Cowboys weren't able to do much to improve their defense. However, they did lead the league in sacks last year and still have Demarcus Ware.

The Giants, though, have arguably the best defensive line in the league. The Giants had a top-5 defense last year without Osi Umenyiora playing a single down. This year, they added Michael Boley, Chris Canty, and Rocky Bernard along with Clint Sintim in the draft.

With the improvements to an already dominant defense along with an offense that doesn't turn the ball over, the Giants are my pick to win this very tough division.

Follow New York Giants from B/R on Facebook

Follow New York Giants from B/R on Facebook and get the latest updates straight to your newsfeed!

New York Giants

Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.