One New Award MLB Should Try Out

Matt 'Frostin' FooteCorrespondent IAugust 28, 2009

HOUSTON - APRIL 06:  Milton Bradley #21 of the Chicago Cubs flips over after missing a fly ball against the Houston Astros on Opening Day on April 6, 2009 at Minute Maid Park in Houston, Texas.  The Cubs defeated the Astros 4-2.  (Photo by Chris Graythen/Getty Images)

The Sir Sidney Ponson Award. It goes to the player who is said they are going to succeed but actually sucks the most in each league. I believe Milton Bradley or Brad Lidge and Dustin Pedroia would get it this year.


AL:Dontrelle Willis

NL:Mark Mulder

Past winners:

Dontrelle Willis, Mark Mulder, Sidney Ponson(2006-2007)

I think it would be successful. Heck, make it so BBWAA has no say and let the fans vote from a list of players. One from each team, that was hyped up to have a great season, but in reality sucked. I would vote.