Honoring Scholar-Athletes: Vols And Lady Vols Graduate 63 Players

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more stories
Honoring Scholar-Athletes: Vols And Lady Vols Graduate 63 Players
Sixty-three current Vols and Lady Vols representing 11 sports are graduating from the University of Tennessee on Friday, continuing Tennessee’s athletics commitment to excellence in the classroom. "I'm very proud of the students that are graduating this semester,” said Eric Brey director of the Thornton Center. “They have worked hard off the field to earn their degrees and now have earned the distinction of being University of Tennessee Alumni. They should be very proud of their accomplishments.” Among the graduates are four members of the 2008 National Champion Lady Vols Basketball Team and current WNBA players Candace Parker, Nicky Anosike, Alexis Hornbuckle and Shannon Bobbitt. "The graduating student-athletes take with them college degrees that prepare them for a life of learning and opportunities,” said Dr. Ruth Darling, assistant vice provost and student success center director. “They also take a set of skills they have acquired though their athletics participation that will contribute to their success in future careers and professions." The graduates include six former student-athletes – Scot Drucker (baseball), Michael Rivera (baseball), Rob Smith (football), Maurice Staley (football) and Jason Witten (football) - who returned to the university to finish their degree through the Thornton Center’s Renewing Academic Commitment program. The RAC program works with former student-athletes by assisting them with advice on remaining degree requirements, course scheduling, tutoring, employment and internships opportunities offered through the CHAMPS/Life Skills Program, as well as use of the Thornton Center for their everyday needs. The 2008 Spring Commencement ceremonies begin Thursday, May 8 from 6-8, including musical performances by Ingram Hill. Ceremonies for the various colleges begin Friday, May 9 at 9 a.m. at Thompson-Bowling Arena and the Knoxville Convention Center. Media interested in talking with any of the graduates are invited to attend the post-graduation reception for student-athletes, their families and coaches at the Thornton Center beginning at 11 a.m. 2008 University of Tennessee Spring Graduates Baseball Scot Drucker – RAC Michael Rivera - RAC Basketball – Men’s Ryan Childress Jordan Howell Justin Jackson C.J. Watson - RAC Basketball – Women’s Nicky Anosike Shannon Bobbitt Alexis Hornbuckle Candace Parker Football Johnny Cannon Britton Colquitt Antonio Gaines David Holbert Cameron Mayo Jarod Parrish Randall Rogers Rob Smith - RAC Maurice Staley – RAC Golf – Men’s Charles Ford Benjamin Spickard Rowing Jessica Ayers Nancy Brittle Christina Dobratz Kristen Galloway Krista Gearing Danielle Himielewski Maris Mohan Kendra Warren Soccer Melissa Amado Ali Christoph Kristen Doukakis Softball Megan Rhodes Lee Ryan Swimming & Diving – Men’s Andrew Engle Peter McVey Christopher Wary Travis Wright Swimming & Diving – Women’s Brooke Boncher Victoria Linnell Tennis – Men’s Kiril Tcherveniachki Johnny Thornton Tennis – Women’s Ghizella Schutte Track & Field – Men’s Paul Cross Kristopher Fant Michael Hogue Matthew Piccarello Christopher Platt Brent Smith Rubin Williams David Wooten Track & Field – Women’s Courtney Champion Shanna Dickenson Celriece Law Latonya Loche Carjay Lyles Cleo Tyson Volleyball Joselyn Johnson Yuliya Stoyanova

Follow Tennessee Volunteers Football from B/R on Facebook

Follow Tennessee Volunteers Football from B/R on Facebook and get the latest updates straight to your newsfeed!

Team StreamTM

Tennessee Volunteers Football

Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.