Zimbabwe vs. Australia: Triangular Series Highlights, Scorecard and Report

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more stories
Zimbabwe vs. Australia: Triangular Series Highlights, Scorecard and Report
Tsvangirayi Mukwazhi/Associated Press

Australia suffered a dismal three-wicket defeat to perennial outsiders Zimbabwe in the Triangular Series one-day match in Harare.

The Zimbabweans hadn't won since beating minnows Afghanistan last month and had been on a seven-match losing run. But the southern African outfit put the form book to one side and produced a convincing display to beat Michael Clarke's disappointing team for the first time since 1983. 

This was a comfortable victory for Zimbabwe, who restricted Australia to just 209 from their 50 overs in what was a disjointed batting display in which only Brad Haddin and Clarke impressed. 

Australia Innings (50 overs)
Batsman Dismissal Runs Balls faced
AJ Finch b Nyumbu 11 12
PJ Hughes c Nyumbu b Utseya 10 30
MJ Clarke not out 68 102
GJ Bailey b Williams 1 5
GJ Maxwell b Waller 13 17
MR Marsh c Utseya b Tiripano 15 37
BJ Haddin c Waller b Tiripano 49 66
JP Faulkner c Nyumbu b Utseya 0 1
MA Starc b Williams 3 5
BCJ Cutting run out 26 22
NM Lyon not out 8 3
Extras 5
Total 209


Zimbabwe's showing at the crease was an altogether more impressive spectacle, with Prosper Utseya adding to his two wickets with a quickfire knock of 30 and Elton Chigumbura hitting his 50. 

Clarke's side got off to an inauspicious start after electing to bat first. Opener Aaron Finch was gone within four overs to the bowling of John Nyumbu and replaced by the captain himself. 

Tsvangirayi Mukwazhi/Associated Press

Clarke elected to steady the green-and-gold ship, but a miserly 35 runs from the first 11 overs removed any semblance of fluency from the Australian attack. Phillip Hughes was gone soon after for 10 after being caught by Nyumbu off the bowling of Utseya

Australia's line-up was beginning to disintegrate when George Bailey was dismissed for a solitary run only one over later. 

Clarke was the only stability in the Australian rearguard as Glenn Maxwell and Mitchell Marsh came and went in quick succession. That was until the captain's old stablemate Haddin came to the crease with Australia lagging on 97-for-5. 

That partnership was bearing fruit for the Australians until Clarke was forced to retire through a persistent injury that saw him replaced by James Faulkner. The latter would only see one ball before being removed by Utseya

Up stepped Mitchell Starc, who was duly dispatched for three runs by Williams. This was fast turning into a disaster for the green and gold. 

His replacement, Ben Cutting, helped Haddin spare some of his side's blushes with a 50 partnership that took the Australians over the 200 mark. But it would not be enough to avoid their lowest-ever one-day total against the Zimbabweans as both were dismissed in the final over of the innings. Australia went in having set a target of 210-for-9.

Zimbabwe's response was dominant. 

Zimbabwe Innings (48 overs)
Batsman Dismissal Runs Balls faced
TMK Mawoyo b Lyon 15 44
Sikandar Raza c sub (SPD Smith) b Lyon 22 32
H Masakadza b Starc 18 35
BRM Taylor b Lyon 32 26
MN Waller c & b Maxwell 11 39
SC Williams c Clarke b Lyon 4 5
E Chigumbura not out 52 68
DT Tiripano b Starc 3 12
P Utseya not out 30 28
Extras 24
Total 211


Tino Mawoyo and Sikandar Raza established a reasonable platform for the Zimbabwean assault on Australia's target, knocking 15 and 22 respectively before being dismissed by Nathan Lyon. 

There was strength in depth in the Zimbabweans batting line-up, though, and Hamilton Masakadza hit a steady 18 before Brendan Taylor smashed 32 from 26 deliveries. He too was seen off by Lyon. 

Zimbabwe were rattling through the innings, and although Malcolm Waller (11) and Sean Williams (4) disappointed, Chigumbura was there to pick up the slack and strike a classy 52 from 68 balls. 

Zimbabwe were cruising to victory, and despite the loss of Donald Tiripano for three, Utseya smashed 30 runs to help Zimbabwe to a remarkable victory with two overs to spare. 

Australia next face South Africa in the three-team tournament in Harare on 2 September. It will then be Zimbabwe's turn to test their regional rivals in the final game of the round-robin stage two days later. 

The two best-performing sides will then go on to contest the final, again in Harare, on 6 September. 

Follow B/R on Facebook

Team StreamTM


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.