Transfer Deadline Day 2014: Date, Time Window Shuts for Major European Leagues

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more stories
Transfer Deadline Day 2014: Date, Time Window Shuts for Major European Leagues
Alastair Grant/Associated Press

A long summer of ins and outs will come to a close on Monday evening, with clubs from all corners of Europe rushing to get their last-minute shopping done.

No club wants to be found short-handed once injuries and suspensions begin to take their toll on the campaign, and the spotlight remains fixed on Europe's big guns, with plenty of business yet to come.

Those last days of the summer window can often prove as tense as they are exciting, with nobody wishing to be out of the loop during the final phases of the 2014 market.

2014 Summer Transfer Window: Europe's Major Deadlines
Country Date Deadline
England Monday, September 1 11 p.m. BST/6 p.m. ET
Spain Monday, September 1 11 p.m. BST/6 p.m. ET
Germany Monday, September 1 5 p.m. BST/12 p.m. ET
Italy Monday, September 1 10 p.m. BST/5 p.m. ET
France Monday, September 1 11 p.m. BST/6 p.m. ET

Other

 

European Giants To Keep An Eye On

Arsenal

As far as deadline day transfers go, Arsenal's 11th-hour capture of Mesut Ozil was up there with the most shocking; a club renowned for stringent spending all of a sudden forking out £42.5 million made for terrific news.

So, the inevitable questions will ponder whether the same is to be expected of the north Londoners in 2014, and one can certainly understand if the Gunners were to conduct more business.

Uncredited/Associated Press

Arsene Wenger will have given fans at the Emirates Stadium a boost, too, after speaking positively regarding his intentions to do business in the final days, per BBC Sport:

"I will be actively involved on the final day of the window and I will be on alert until the last minute of transfer deadline day. Many clubs are on the market and everybody knows each other. The last few days are a poker game."

Laurence Griffiths/Getty Images

Olivier Giroud's broken leg means that a striker replacement could be on the agenda, while defender Thomas Vermaelen is yet to be replaced since moving to Barcelona.

As a result, it's foreseeable that the Emirates will be fraught with tension leading up to the 11 p.m. crescendo, with Arsenal hoping to steer their fortunes toward a title bid.

 

Milan

Filippo Inzaghi has a crushing weight of pressure upon his shoulders this season, with Milan striving to return to the glory of times gone past but no clear solution on just how to go about it.

Marco Luzzani/Getty Images

One very obvious issue in need of addressing is the squad itself, and after finishing eighth in Serie A last season, the current crop looks some way off title favourites Juventus and Roma.

Chelsea have confirmed that Fernando Torres will be joining up with Milan on a two-year loan, while Miguel Delaney of ESPN FC questions the value of the potential switch:

Even with Torres among their options, however, there are other areas of concern in Inzaghi's line-up, not least of which is midfield reinforcements.

It's often the case that fanbase pressure and the need to improve on recent results can urge a team into spending big, and considering Milan's need to recapture the old days, the San Siro could yet be the scene of some major activity.

 

Manchester United

And in a similar circumstance to Milan comes Manchester United, another club with a heavy burden hanging over their heads after finishing seventh in the Premier League standings last term.

Clive Mason/Getty Images

Big names have already been brought to Old Trafford by new coach Louis van Gaal but having yet to win a game this season, tensions around the club are as high as ever.

One presence the club is still lacking is that of the tough-tackling central midfielder they've been searching so long for.

According to Metro, the summer-long hunt for Juventus' Arturo Vidal goes on, and if there were a transfer which could spark deadline day into extreme drama, that would certainly have the potential:

Van Gaal will need time to rebuild such a broken outfit, of course. The signs appeared evident in Sir Alex Ferguson's last days at the helm that standards were perhaps on a downward slope.

However, Van Gaal's project begins this summer, and the last opportunities he'll have to improve his ranks are likely to be examined with huge attention.

Load More Stories

Follow B/R on Facebook

Out of Bounds

World Football

Subscribe Now

We will never share your email address

Thanks for signing up.