La Liga Fixtures 2014 Week 2: Schedule, Live Stream Info, Picks and Key Players

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more stories
La Liga Fixtures 2014 Week 2: Schedule, Live Stream Info, Picks and Key Players
Denis Doyle/Getty Images

Reigning La Liga champions Atletico Madrid opened their title defence with a draw at Rayo Vallecano to hand fellow giants Barcelona and Real Madrid an early advantage in this season's silverware hunt.

Diego Simeone's men will attempt to move past that disappointment when Eibar travel to the Vicente Calderon on Saturday, but Spain's other big guns have a selection of more enticing fixtures on their hands.

Week 2 of the 2014-15 campaign features a bounty of storylines worth keeping an eye on, with viewing information and analysis of the weekend's key players detailed ahead.

2014-15 La Liga Week 2 Schedule
Date Fixture Time Live Stream
August 29 Getafe vs. Almeria 7 p.m. BST/2 p.m. ET beIN Play (U.S.)
August 29 Valencia vs. Malaga 9 p.m. BST/4 p.m. ET Sky Go (UK), beIN Play (U.S.)
August 30 Cordoba vs. Celta Vigo 6 p.m. BST/1 p.m. ET N/A
August 30 Athletic Bilbao vs. Levante 6 p.m. BST/1 p.m. ET Sky Go (UK)
August 30 Atletico Madrid vs. Eibar 8 p.m. BST/3 p.m. ET beIN Play (U.S.)
August 30 Espanyol vs. Sevilla 10 p.m. BST/5 p.m. ET Sky Go (UK), beIN Play (U.S.)
August 31 Villarreal vs. Barcelona 6 p.m. BST/1 p.m. ET Sky Go (UK), beIN Play (U.S.)
August 31 Real Sociedad vs. Real Madrid 8 p.m. BST/3 p.m. ET Sky Go (UK), beIN Play (U.S.)
August 31 Deportivo la Coruna vs. Rayo Vallecano 8 p.m. BST/3 p.m. ET N/A
August 31 Elche vs. Granada 10 p.m. BST/5 p.m. ET N/A

Soccerway.com

Stream Providers: Sky Go (UK, subscription required), beIN Sport Play (U.S., subscription required)

 

Must-Watch Matchups

Valencia vs. Malaga

Both Valencia and Malaga got their league campaigns off to ill-tempered starts. Vitorino Antunes and Duda each saw red for the Anchovies late in their 1-0 win over Athletic Bilbao, while Valencia youngster Rodrigo de Paul was sent off at Sevilla.

David Ramos/Getty Images

With Antunes out of the picture, Arthur Boka looks set to deputise at left-back for Malaga, but one performance Javi Garcia will have been particularly encouraged by came from on-loan playmaker Luis Alberto.

The Liverpool maestro has slotted straight into Malaga's setup and netted an initially saved penalty to provide the winner against Athletic, earning praise from his parent club:

In Dani Parejo and Javi Fuego, Valencia have a capable midfield anchor who could prove problematic for the former Sevilla youngster, and Malaga's weakened ranks mean there's that much more emphasis on the starting line-up to impress.

 

Villarreal vs. Barcelona

David Ramos/Getty Images

Luis Enrique gave a firm statement of belief in the Barca youth system when handing Rafinha and Munir el Haddadi their places in the starting XI against Elche last weekend.

The latter rewarded his manager with a debut goal, adding to Lionel Messi's brace to push his side to the top of the table after Week 1. The club's official Twitter account confirms the young attacker is training with the senior players once again prior to this weekend's trip to Villarreal:

A 3-0 win over Elche is one thing, but having seen Villarreal earn a 2-0 victory against Levante, Barca know they're in for a tougher test come Sunday.

Will Barcelona retain their place atop the table after Week 2?

Submit Vote vote to see results

Denis Cheryshev was one of those on target for Fernando Roig Alonso's men, and his position on the flank could see him come into direct competition with Munir, making for a head-to-head worth keeping tabs on.

 

Real Sociedad vs. Real Madrid

Real Sociedad's hope for a revival in form this season took a hit in the opening round of fixtures, where Eibar's first-ever La Liga match also resulted in their first-ever top-tier victory.

Despite enjoying 59 percent of the possession, per WhoScored.com, penetration was La Real's main issue, and it's a shortcoming in which Real Madrid won't be as forgiving on Sunday.

Andres Kudacki/Associated Press

Los Merengues started their term with a 2-0 win over Cordoba. Toni Kroos enjoyed another fine outing, setting up Real's first league goal of the season for Karim Benzema.

The German will be important in all aspects in what's sure to be a flooded Sociedad midfield, ensuring the likes of Sergio Canales and Esteban Granero aren't able to leave their man while constructing for those assets around him.

Load More Stories

Follow B/R on Facebook

Out of Bounds

La Liga

Subscribe Now

We will never share your email address

Thanks for signing up.