Guyana vs. Jamaica, 2014 CPL Semi-Final: Date, Time, Live Stream, TV, Preview

Antoinette MullerFeatured ColumnistAugust 13, 2014

PORT OF SPAIN, TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO - AUGUST 24:  Andre Russell of Jamaica Tallawahs celebrates victory against Guyana Amazon Warriors during the Final of the Caribbean Premier League between Guyana Amazon Warriors v Jamaica Tallawahs at Queens Park Oval on August 24, 2013 in Port of Spain, Trinidad and Tobago. (Photo by Randy Brooks/Getty Images Latin America for CPL)
Getty Images/Getty Images

Guyana and Jamaica will slog it out in the second semi-final of the Caribbean Premier League. The winner will go on to play Barbados in the final on Saturday.

Date: Thursday, August 14

Starting time: 21:00 BST/16:00 Local time

Venue: Warner Park, Basseterre, St Kitts

TV and live stream: BT Sport (UK), SonyMAX (India), Fox Sport (Australia) CBN (Some Caribbean Islands), SuperSport (South Africa)

Weather: According to AccuWeather, the weather looks good. It will be warm and sunny with a few scattered showers forecast for much later in the evening. The rain should not be enough to disrupt the match, though.



During the group stages of the Caribbean Premier League, a curious anomaly emerged. Four teams finished on the same number of points after all winning six and losing three of their games. One side, Barbados Tridents, earned direction qualification into the final. Guyana Amazon Warriors earned direct qualification into the second semi-final, and two other teams had to slog it out to play two semi-finals.

Trinidad and Tobago had to battle it out with Jamaica on Wednesday night for a spot against Guyana.

Jamaica took the match to the final over, chasing 153, thanks to an unbeaten 82 run stand between Rusty Theron and Andre Russell for the eight wicket. The top order collapses spectacularly with just one player, Nkrumah Bonner, managing to get into double figures. Russell and Theron steadied the ship and squeezed out the win in the end, winning with two balls to spare.

Guyana, meanwhile, have not had any such stresses, and their first real test in knockout conditions will come on Thursday.   

Their batting really came to the fore in their last few outings with 212 and 189 in their last two matches. Lendl Simmons has been the star player with 355 runs at an average of 44.37, including three fifties. Denesh Ramdin and Martin Guptill have also contributed handsomely with the bat, with 236 and 285 runs, respectively.

T20 can be a funny game, and considering the records of the teams are so identical, the outcome is difficult to predict. Guyana have had more time to rest, though, but even that might not be an exact science. Some players prefer time off, while others might like cashing in on momentum. Jamaica will, perhaps, be a little bit more confident after being tested in such heavily pressurised circumstances.

What is sure, though, if the last game is anything to go by, a thrilling contest awaits to decide the finalist.


Key players


Krishmar Santokie has been a real handful in T20s lately, and he is third on the overall wicket-takers list for the CPLT20. He has 13 wickets at an average of 22.23, and his ability to force pressure will be a big asset for Guyana.



Chris Gayle has had three poor performances on the trot now, failing to get into double figures on each one of those occasions.

Overall, though, he remains the third-highest run-scorer of the competition. His unbeaten 111 was his top score of the competition, and although it came more than a month ago now, Gayle very rarely goes too long without having a blinder of an innings. His impact at the top of the order will be key.




Mohammad Hafeez, Denesh Ramdin, Veerasammy Permaul, Sunil Narine, Christopher Barnwell, Lendl Simmons, Martin Guptill, Krishmar Santokie, Steven Jacobs, Ronsford Beaton, Trevon Griffith, Corey Anderson, Navin Stewart, Leon Johnson and Robin Bacchus



Andre Russell, Ahmed Shehzad, Chris Gayle, Muttiah Muralitharan, Adam Voges, David Bernard, Nikita Miller, Chadwick Walton, Nkrumah Bonner, Jermaine Blackwood, Carlton Baugh, Andrew Richardson, Rusty Theron, Jerome Taylor, Odean Brown