The first MLB season with expanded replay has been anything but smooth, and for Baltimore Orioles manager Buck Showalter, it reached a tipping point recently.
In the seventh inning of the Orioles' game against the St. Louis Cardinals on Sunday, replay officials in New York overturned a call on the field and ruled that Baltimore second baseman Jonathan Schoop did not complete the process of a catch while trying to turn a double play. That didn't sit well with Showalter.
The Baltimore skipper was tossed for arguing the call, but he didn't want to leave the field until he was able to put on the headset and receive an explanation from the replay officials himself.
Unfortunately for the Orioles manager, he was unable to get his wish.
Showalter talked about the play after the game, via MLB.com's David Wilson: "Ball's in back of the glove, just like the old rule, new rule, old rule. They changed it out of spring, then they changed it back to the old rule. Today, it got changed back to the other one, so what are you going to do?"
It was the first time that Showalter had been ejected this season.
Here are some more looks at the play:
The call didn't end up hurting the Orioles, however. The Cardinals were unable to push a run across in the inning.
St. Louis ended up scoring in each of the final two innings to pull out an 8-3 victory.
[MLB.com, h/t CBS Sports]
Like the new article format? Send us feedback!