Brian Vickers on Pole, Scott Speed Second in Chicago Qualifying

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more stories
Brian Vickers on Pole, Scott Speed Second in Chicago Qualifying
(Photo by Jason Smith/Getty Images for NASCAR)

Brian Vickers was the fastest man in Chicago Thursday night winning his fifth pole of 2009 with a fast lap of 29.32 seconds, translating to 184.162 mph to put the No. 83 Red Bull Toyota on the pole with teammate Scott Speed starting second in an all Red Bull front row for the 400 Saturday night. Jimmie Johnson will line up third with Denny Hamlin and Clint Bowyer rounding out the top 5

Now, here is the rest of the top 10: Kyle Busch and Jeff Gordon start sixth and seventh with Bill Elliott in the No. 21 Wood Brothers Motocraft Ford starting eighth and the Micheal Waltrip cars of David Reutimann and Marcos Ambrose in ninth and tenth, respectively.

Dale Earnhardt Jr did very well in practice and qualifying, and so did Mark Martin. They will start 14th and 15th. The Hendrick cars look very strong for this weekend in Chicago. Could this be the week for former winner Dale Jr?

Also the Fords of Roush Fenway cars are absent from the top 15. Could we have another first-time winner in Chicago? Tony Stewart, last week's winner in Daytona, had a bad qualifying run and will start 32nd. Three drivers failed to make the race as Mike Wallace, Dexter Bean and Tony Raines go home.

You can catch the race live on TNT Saturday with Countdown To Green starting at 6:30 p.m. EST.

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.