Tour De France 2014: Jersey Winners, General Classification Results and Reaction

Rob Blanchette@@_Rob_BFeatured ColumnistJuly 28, 2014

2014 Tour de France cycling race winner Italy's Vincenzo Nibali, wearing the overall leader's yellow jersey, celebrates on the podium in Paris, France, Sunday, July 27, 2014. (AP Photo/Christophe Ena)
Christophe Ena/Associated Press

Vincenzo Nibali became only the sixth rider in history to win a clean sweep of all three of cycling's biggest races as he finally won the Tour de France, in Paris.

The Italian completed a full house of Grand Tours, winning the overall race in a time of 89:58:46—almost eight minutes clear of the field.

Here is a rundown of the jersey winners and final results:

2014 Tour De France - Jersey Winners
YellowVincenzo NibaliAstana
GreenPeter SaganCannondale
Polka-DotRafal MajkaTinkoff-Saxo
2014 Tour de France General Classification
1Vincenzo NibaliAstana89:58:46
2Jean Christophe PeraudAG2R+7:52
3Thibaut PinotFDJ+8:24
4Alejandro ValverdeMovistar+9:55
5Tejay van GarderenBMC+11:44
6Romain BardetAG2R+11:46
7Leopold KonigNetApp+14:41
8Haimar ZubeldiaTrek+18:12
9Laurens ten DamBelkin+18:20
10Bauke MollemaTrek+21:24
2014 Tour de France Points Classification
1Peter SaganCannondale431
2Alexander KristoffKatyusha282
3Bryan CoquardEuropcar271
4Marcel KittelGiant-Shimano222
5Mark RenshawOPQS211
6Vincenzo NibaliAstana182
7Andre GreipelLotto169
8Ramunas NavardauskasGarmin157
9Greg van AvermaetBMC153
10Samuel DumoulinAG2R117
2014 Tour de France Mountain Classification
1Rafal MajkaTinkoff-Saxo181
2Vincenzo NibaliAstana168
3Joaquin RodriguezKatyusha112
4Thibaut PinotFDJ89
5Jean-Christophe PeraudAG2R85
6Alessandro De MarchiCannondale78
7Thomas VoecklerEuropcar61
8Giovanni ViscontiMovistar54
9Alejandro ValverdeMovistar48
10Tejay van GarderenBMC48

The green jersey, handed to the top sprinter, went to Cannondale's Peter Sagan. Despite the rider not winning any stage, he held on to the jersey from the second day onwards and never relinquished it.

He finally won the sprinters accolade by 149 points ahead of the field—a truly convincing performance of 431 points in total—with Alexander Kristoff placing second on 282 points.

Rafal Majka took the polka-dot jersey to be crowned king of the mountains. The Tinkoff-Saxo cyclist edged the honour ahead of Nibali, accumulating 181 points—just 13 points ahead of the overall champion.

And Thibaut Pinot of won the title of best young rider and the coveted white jersey, marking him out as one to watch in the future.

Laurent Cipriani/Associated Press

Nibali was delighted with his overall victory in Paris, saying, per Ian Austen of the New York Times:

“Now that I find myself on the highest step on the Champs-Élysées podium, it’s more beautiful than I ever imagined.”

And quoted Nibali after his win, already looking forward to the future:

I’ve taken my place in the history of the Tour and that’s very important, but those others also made their names in other great races, such as the classics. I never thought about making history, I just concentrated on trying to win the Tour, like I won the Giro and the Vuelta, because I’m a stage racer.

Of course there are other races that I want to to win, like the Tour of Lombardy in which I’ve come close many times but not had the luck. Or the World Championships, which I tried to win last year, or Liège-Bastogne-Liège. I’ve always liked these races and I’d like to try to win them, even though I’m more suited to stage races.

Christophe Ena/Associated Press

VeloNews editor Neal Rogers also congratulated the new champion, saying nothing should be taken away from him despite a reduced field of top riders.

He tweeted:

Nibali's competition was greatly reduced this year with the Tour's last two winners unable to challenge in 2014.

Last year's winner Chris Froome exited early from the race after injury and Team Sky omitted Sir Bradley Wiggins from a ride. Alberto Contador also pulled out after a crash on Stage 10.

If any had been present, the Italian may not have been such a runaway success, but he destroyed a field of top cyclists to valiantly claim the biggest prize in the sport. Next year, Froome should return to make amends and battle to reclaim the title many thought would be his again in 2014. Wiggins looks unlikely to return as a serious contender for the Tour anytime in the future.

Nibali's achievement of joining the band of triple Grand Tour winners cannot be ignored and he has now propelled himself into the category of one of cycling's greatest riders. He will be one of the favourites again next year but the full inclusion of Froome and Contador will guarantee an epic competition.


    Froome Wins Historic Treble

    Cycling logo

    Froome Wins Historic Treble

    BBC Sport
    via BBC Sport

    Armstrong Settles Fraud Suit with US Government

    Cycling logo

    Armstrong Settles Fraud Suit with US Government

    Rob Goldberg
    via Bleacher Report

    Cyclist Michael Goolaerts Dies at Age 23 from Cardiac Arrest

    Cycling logo

    Cyclist Michael Goolaerts Dies at Age 23 from Cardiac Arrest

    Gianni Verschueren
    via Bleacher Report

    Report: Wiggins Used Drugs to Boost Performance

    Cycling logo

    Report: Wiggins Used Drugs to Boost Performance

    Matt Jones
    via Bleacher Report