Ranking 10 Best SEC Football Teams of BCS Era

« Prev
1 of 12
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
Ranking 10 Best SEC Football Teams of BCS Era
Marc Serota/Getty Images

Picking the best SEC football teams during their dominant run through the BCS era essentially means nitpicking some of the strongest teams in recent memory.

SEC football fans hope they will find the same success the conference enjoyed during the BCS era, when it ran off nine total national championships and seven consecutive titles.

Of course, hosting two of the all-time great coaches certainly doesn’t hurt.

Nick Saban and Urban Meyer represent six of the top 10 teams during the BCS era and one honorable mention team each as well.

Emerging as SEC champion carried great honor during the BCS era—and whoever came out of the conference was expected to bring home the national hardware.

With the College Football Playoff era upon us, we take today to look back on the best teams the BCS era had to offer.

How good is this group of teams? Not even a national championship secures a spot in the countdown.

We measure the top 10 teams by considering win-loss records while also factoring in margins of victory (both total and against quality competition). Other components considered were the overall talent on the teams and their strength of schedule.

Here is our list.

Begin Slideshow »

Follow Texas A&M Football from B/R on Facebook

Follow Texas A&M Football from B/R on Facebook and get the latest updates straight to your newsfeed!

Texas A&M Football

Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.