National League Home Run Derby Participants Announced

Matt 'Frostin' FooteCorrespondent IJuly 6, 2009

SAN FRANCISCO - MAY 31:  Albert Pujols #5 of the St. Louis Cardinals bats against the San Francisco Giants at AT&T Park on May 31, 2009 in San Francisco, California.  (Photo by Ezra Shaw/Getty Images)

Former champion Ryan Howard, Albert Pujols, Prince Fielder and Adrian Gonzalez will represent the National League in the All-Star Home Run Derby next week.


The four sluggers are the National League's first basemen for the game on July 14 in St. Louis. The game airs at 8 PM ET on FOX. The home run derby will be held Monday night at Busch Stadium.

Pujols leads the Majors with 31 home runs for the Cardinals. Howard won the 2006 All-Star Home Run Derby in Pittsburgh.

Howard has hit more than 40 home runs in four consecutive seasons, including 58 in 2006. He's on his way to another strong campaign this season with 20 long balls in just over 300 at-bats.

Fielder, who got off to a cold start last season, has resumed his role as being one the NL's most feared sluggers. He's got 22 home runs in just under 300 at-bats, and combined with fellow All-Star Ryan Braun, gives Milwaukee the league's best power duo.

When you consider that Adrian Gonzalez plays in one of the worst power parks in San Diego, his 24 home runs this season look that much more impressive. Gonzalez is making his second All-Star appearance.

The American League participants will be announced later.