Tour de France 2014: Stage 8 Winner, Results and Updated Leaderboard Standings

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more stories
Tour de France 2014: Stage 8 Winner, Results and Updated Leaderboard Standings
Peter Dejong/Associated Press

Blel Kadri was the sole survivor of an early flight during the 2014 Tour de France's Stage 8, finishing solo at the ski station of La Mauselaine and grabbing hold of the polka-dot jersey in the process.

The Frenchman attacked from the leading group on the first climb of the day and never looked back, taking advantage of a lackluster day from the peloton.

2014 Tour de France Stage 8 Results
Position Rider Team Time
1 Blel Kadri AG2R 3:49:28
2 Alberto Contador Tinkoff-Saxo +2:17
3 Vincenzo Nibali Astana +2:20
4 Richie Porte Team Sky +2:24
5 Thibaut Pinot FDJ +2:28
6 Jean Christophe Peraud AG2R +2:28
7 Alejandro Valverde Movistar +2:36
8 Tejay van Garderen BMC +2:40
9 Romain Bardet AG2R +2:48
10 Sylvain Chavanel I AM Cycling +2:54

Saturday's stage was the first real day in the mountains, with three steep climbs in the final hour of racing. The first week of the 2014 Tour was a rough one, and the peloton was widely expected to take it easy upon arrival at the Vosges.

This opened the door for an early flight, and the duo of Sylvain Chavanel and Niki Terpstra showed little patience, attacking in the first 25 kilometers of the race. Adrien Petit, Simon Yates and Kadri soon joined them, and the five riders quickly found each other, opening a huge gap on the peloton.

Leaderboard contender Jurgen Van Den Broeck lost one of his main helpers early, as Bart De Clercq was forced to retire from the race, still suffering from injuries he sustained in the stage toward Lille, as shared by Lotto Belisol:

Kadri clearly had his mind set on the polka-dot jersey, and it became clear early on in the race he wasn't going to see much resistance from the peloton. The lead kept growing for the five riders, and it looked like the stage winner would be part of the leading group, via Le Tour de France:

The five leaders encountered thunderstorms as they got closer to the Vosges and were warned by event organisers the roads could become very slippery in the descends, adding yet another element of surprise to Saturday's finale.

Chavanel placed an attack early on the Col de la Croix des Moinats, the first of three climbs, but mountain-leader Kadri easily followed in his wake. Yates attempted to close the gap but was caught by an attack from Kadri, who decided to approach the finale solo.

The top contenders started battling in the peloton, with Alberto Contador looking keen to impress. The Spaniard lost a lot of time on Vincenzo Nibali in the first week of the Tour, and Stage 8 gave him his first chance to make up some ground.

Nibali looked strong on the first two climbs, however, surrounded by the likes of Rui Costa and Bauke Mollema. Meanwhile, local hero Kadri impressed at the front of the race, as shared by

The weather now deteriorated quickly ahead of the short, final climb, and the peloton started preparing itself for fireworks. Michael Rodgers kept making pace for Contador, who readied himself for the launch with Nibali on his wheel.

Winner Kadri was well out of reach, finishing solo for the most prestigious victory of his professional career.

In the background, Nicolas Roche led the pack from the foot of the final climb and launched Contador right under the banner of final kilometer, but Nibali easily followed him up the slopes toward La Mauselaine, winning the first real battle of top contenders.

Points Classification (Green Jersey)
Position Rider Team Points
1 Peter Sagan Cannondale 267
2 Bryan Coquard Europcar 156
3 Marcel Kittel Giant-Shimano 146
4 Alexander Kristoff Katusha 117
5 Mark Renshaw O.Ph.-Q-Step 101
6 Andre Greipel Lotto-Belisol 98
7 Greg van Avermaet BMC Racing 60
8 Tony Gallopin Lotto-Belisol 56
9 Samuel Dumoulin AG2R 55
10 Matteo Trentin O.Ph.-Q-Step 54

Mountain Classification (Polka-Dot Jersey)
Position Rider Team Points
1 Blel Kadri AG2R 17
2 Cyril Lemoine Cofidis 6
3 Sylvain Chavanel I AM Cycling 6
4 Simon Yates Orica 5
5 Jens Voigt Trek 4

General Classification (Yellow Jersey)
Position Rider Team Time
1 Vincenzo Nibali Astana 33:48:52
2 Jakob Fuglsang Astana +1:44
3 Richie Porte Team Sky 1:58
4 Michal Kwiatkowski Omega Pharma-Quick Step +2:26
5 Alejandro Valverde Movistar +2:27
6 Alberto Contador Tinkoff-Saxo +2:34
7 Romain Bardet AG2R +2:39
8 Rui Costa Lampre +2:52
9 Bauke Mollema Belkin +3:02
10 Jurgen Van Den Broeck Lotto Belisol +3:02

The battle for the general classification has now truly started, with Sunday's stage taking the riders from Gerardmer to Mulhouse. Six categorized climbs will greet the peloton, including the first category one, Le Markstein.

The final 20 kilometers are relatively flat, but by that time, the pack should be in bits and pieces. A finish with a group of the 20 top contenders for the yellow seems likely, although an early flight will have every chance to survive the 170 mountainous kilometers.

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.