Germany Pass Brazil to Become All-Time Leaders in World Cup Goals

Bleacher Report MilestonesB/R StaffJuly 8, 2014

Brazil's Oscar, right, passes by celebrating German players after Germany's Thomas Mueller scored the opening goal during the World Cup semifinal soccer match between Brazil and Germany at the Mineirao Stadium in Belo Horizonte, Brazil, Tuesday, July 8, 2014. (AP Photo/Frank Augstein)
Frank Augstein/Associated Press

With their dominating and shocking 7-1 victory over Brazil in the semifinals of the World Cup on Tuesday, ESPN Stats & Info indicates Germany became the tournament's all-time leaders in goals with 223.

Germany actually took the all-time lead after going up 5-0 in the first half, displacing their opponents on Tuesday at the top of the list after Brazil had a four-goal advantage heading into the match.

After the final whistle was blown, Brazil sat at 221 goals, while Germany heads into the final at 223.

Germany's high-scoring tradition is being carried on with their current squad, as a number of other scoring records were set in the demolition of the host nation on Tuesday.

According to ESPN's Paul Carr, forward Thomas Mueller became just the second player to score five goals in consecutive World Cups when he found the back of the net in the 11th minute.

Fellow forward Miroslav Klose then became the World Cup's all-time leading goalscorer when he put Germany up 2-0 after 23 minutes.

ESPN Stats & Info notes that, at just 24 years old, Mueller became the third-youngest player to reach 10 World Cup goals. He's joined four other Germans who have produced double-digit goals.

Carr reveals that Brazil are the only other nation to have multiple players reach 10 goals, and they only have two (Pele and Ronaldo).

Germany's success in the tournament has had a major bearing on their goal-scoring record, as they have reached a record 12 semifinals, including four consecutive trips to the final four.

Despite the prolific performances, Germany have not won the World Cup since West Germany took home the trophy in 1990.