Tour de France 2014: Stage 4 Winner, Results and Updated Leaderboard Standings

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more stories
Tour de France 2014: Stage 4 Winner, Results and Updated Leaderboard Standings
Laurent Cipriani/Associated Press

Marcel Kittel continued his dominance of the 2014 Tour de France, winning another mass sprint on Tuesday to capture Stage 4. In what was without a doubt the closest finish of the year, Kittel just edged out Alexander Kristoff and Arnaud Demare with an excellent jump on the line.

The full results of Tuesday's race:

2014 Tour de France Stage 4 Results
Position Rider Team Time
1 Marcel Kittel Giant-Shimano 3:36:39
2 Alexander Kristoff Katusha Same Time
3 Arnaud Demare FDJ Same Time
4 Peter Sagan Cannondale Same Time
5 Bryan Coquard Europcar Same Time
6 Andre Greipel Lotto-Belisol Same Time
7 Mark Renshaw OPQS Same Time
8 Danny van Poppel Trek Factory Same Time
9 Davide Cimolai Lampre-Merida Same Time
10 Daniel Oss BMC Same Time

Sky Sports

The Tour de France peloton lost another big name on Tuesday, as former winner Andy Schleck decided not to start, following his heavy crash during Monday's stage, per Sky Sports News:

Stage 4 was dominated by mechanical issues and early attacks. Thomas Voeckler (who else) was feeling particularly adventurous, and the peloton allowed him and Spain's Luis Angel Mate to build an early lead.

The pack was shocked by an early crash, and Tour favourite Chris Froome was one of the riders who went down. The Brit was able to continue the race, but according to Team Sky, he took quite a bit of damage during the crash:

Niki Terpstra was the next to get acquainted with the tarmac, and while the Dutchman, too, was able to continue the race per OPQS, the former Paris-Roubaix winner will have been hoping for a smoother ride with an eye on tomorrow's stage.

Voeckler and Mate took advantage of numerous punctures and crashes in the peloton, building up a maximum lead of 3:23. But with 70 kilometers still to go, mechanical issues finally caught up with the duo.

Mate's shifting gear broke down, forcing local hero Voeckler to continue on his own. The pack then started to push the tempo, looking to force another mass sprint, and Lotto-Belisol even managed to break the peloton in half on two occasions.

Lotto's pace was so high they even forced a crash of their own. It was terrible news for Andre Greipel, who lost a big part of his sprint train ahead of the finish in Lille. Greg Henderson had to exit the race, according to Roadcyclinguk, so the German sprint specialist will be without his pilot for the rest of the Tour de France:

Voeckler was finally caught with 17 kilometers still to go, setting the stage for the third mass sprint in four days. Giant-Shimano and Tinkoff-Saxo organised the peloton, with Tony Martin attempting an unsuccessful late break.

Omega Pharma-Quick Step made the sprint for Mark Renshaw, but it was Kristoff who led the pack into the final 200 meters. Kristoff seemed to resist the pressure from the peloton, but in-form Kittel took over the lead late and finished with a beautiful jump.

2014 Tour de France Overall Leaderboard (Yellow Jersey)
Place Rider Team Time
1 Vincenzo Nibali Astana 17:07:52
2 Peter Sagan Cannondale +2 secs
3 Michael Albasini GreenEdge Same Time
4 Greg Van Avermaet BMC Racing st
5 Alberto Contador Tinkoff-Saxo st
6 Alejandro Valverde Movistar st
7 Chris Froome Team Sky st
9 Jurgen Van den Broeck Lotto st
9 Bauke Mollema Belkin st
10 Jakob Fuglsang Astana st

2014 Tour de France Points Classification (Green Jersey)
Place Rider Team Points
1 Peter Sagan Cannondale 158
2 Marcel Kittel Giant 135
3 Bryan Coquard Europcar 121
4 Alexander Kristoff Katusha 82
5 Mark Renshaw OPQS 48
6 Arnaud Demare BMC Racing 44
7 Greg Van Avermaet Garmin 42
8 Ramunas Navardauskas Astana 38
9 Michael Albasini GreenEdge 37
10 Andre Greipel Lotto Belisol 37

2014 Tour de France Polka-Dot Jersey Standings
Position Rider Team Points
1 Cyril LeMoine Confidis 6
2 Blel Kadri AG2R La Mondiale 5
3 Jens Voigt Trek 4
4 Nicolas Edet Cofidis 3
5 Thomas Voeckler Europcar 3
6 Pierre Rolland Europcar 2
7 Tom-Jelte Slagter Garmin-Sharp 2
8 Perrig Quemeneur Europcar 2
9 David de la Cruz Melgarejo NetApp-Endura 2
10 Chris Froome Team Sky 1

Wednesday's stage is all about the cobblestones, and the riders will hope the weather clears up ahead of the start in Ypres. The peloton will follow parts of the legendary Paris-Roubaix course, and with heavy winds expected, Stage 5 has all the makings of an instant classic.

Pure power-riders like Peter Sagan and Fabian Cancellara will be the favourites for the race win, with the top contenders for the leaderboard probably riding with two hands on their brakes on Wednesday.

A crash on Roubaix's cobblestones has ended many a season for riders in the past, so don't expect the likes of Froome and Alberto Contador to take any risks. The cobblestone specialists will be given free rein to make the race on Wednesday, and it's unlikely the pack will do much to stop them.

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.