Bangladesh vs. India, 3rd ODI: Date, Time, Live Stream, TV Info and Preview

Antoinette MullerFeatured ColumnistJune 18, 2014

Bangladesh captain Mushfiqur Rahim reacts as he walks back to the pavilion after his dismissal by India's Parvez Rasool  during their first one-day International cricket match in Dhaka, Bangladesh, Sunday, June 15, 2014. (AP Photo/A.M. Ahad)
A.M. Ahad/Associated Press

Bangladesh and India play the third and final ODI in their three-match series on Thursday. India have already won the series and for Bangladesh, it's all about saving face.


Venue: Dhaka

Date: Thursday, June 19

Time: 8 a.m. BST/1 p.m. local time

Live on: Ghazi TV, BTV, Channel 9: (Bangladesh), Star Cricket, Super Sports, Star Sport: (India, Pakistan), Ten Sports: (Pakistan, UAE & Other Asian Countries), PTV Sports: (Pakistan) and Sky Highlights: (Australia, England, South Africa and other European Countries)

Weather: AccuWeather predicts a day filled with showers and rain. The forecast is pretty bleak and rain is forecast for the entire day.



After an embarrassing result in their second ODI, which saw Bangladesh bowled out for 58, Bangladesh have more of a point to prove than ever before. There is only so much introspection a team can do after such a catastrophic result, the rest of the answers have to come on the pitch.

But there is little knowing where exactly Bangladesh's answers will come from. They were so completely dreadful that even Taskin Ahmed's five-wicket haul went unnoticed. Bangladesh's bowlers did their best and restricted India to 105 all out. That should have been job done and a simple task for the low-on-confidence batsmen, but the opposite happened.

After the shocking result, Bangladesh captain Mushfiqur Rahim had to face up to the media and explain. But he could not find the words and could simply apologise. As per ESPNCricinfo, the captain said:

I don't have an explanation for this defeat. All I can say is that we had a very good opportunity. There cannot be anything more shameful, so I apologise to the nation on behalf of the team. A lot of problems can be identified after such a defeat. Maybe we are trying hard, but I don't know what is exactly going wrong. We will discuss our problems tomorrow, but I think if this were our second team, they would have played better cricket. It is very disappointing.

The lack of mental strength was a big factor, but if you're already low on confidence, things will only escalate after such a horror show. Perhaps Bangladesh’s one hope is that the forecast is looking bleak and the chance of a game is looking slim. To get this series over and done with and find a way to move on seems the best way forward.

For India, meanwhile, there will also be questions over their young batsmen. Nobody managed to score 30 and only one player—Suresh Raina—managed more than 20. If this were a test to see how the fringe players are doing, then they have failed in their task of showing their consistency.

For both sides, the third and final ODI is a chance to right some of the wrongs from the second match. The only downside is, the match might not happen at all and India will still walk away from the series as the happier team.


Key players


It's nearly impossible to pick key players after such a hammering, but Taskin Ahmed's five-for on debut will give him cause to prove that it was no fluke. Of course he's not expected to take five wickets every time but some sort of consistency will be a big positive for Bangladesh.



Mohit Sharma continues to shine in limited overs. Consistency from him will show that he is adaptable to different match situations and one of the key players of the Indian team going forward.




Mushfiqur Rahim (captain/wicketkeeper), Tamim Iqbal, Anamul Haque, Shamsur Rahman, Mominul Haque, Shakib Al Hasan, Nasir Hossain, Mahmudullah Riyad, Mithun Ali, Abdur Razzak, Mashrafe Mortaza, Sohag Gazi, Ziaur Rahman, Al-Amin Hossain, Taskin Ahmed.  



Suresh Raina (captain), Robin Uthappa, Ajinkya Rahane, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ambati Rayudu, Manoj Tiwary, Kedar Jadhav, Wriddhiman Saha (wicketkeeper), Parvez Rasool, Akshar Patel, Vinay Kumar, Umesh Yadav, Stuart Binny, Mohit Sharma and Amit Mishra.


All stats via ESPN Cricinfo unless otherwise mentioned.