NASCAR at Michigan 2014 Results: Winner, Standings, Highlights and Reaction

Donald Wood@@Donald_WoodFeatured ColumnistJune 15, 2014

Jonathan Daniel/Getty Images

In yet another exciting chapter at Michigan International Speedway, Jimmie Johnson and the No. 48 car ran to a victory in the 2014 Quicken Loans 400 using smart pit strategy from crew chief Chad Knaus.

It was Johnson's first career win at Michigan.

Kevin Harvick and the No. 4 car led for much of the day, but he had to settle for a second-place finish. Brad Keselowski came in third, and Paul Menard in the No. 27 car finished a respectable fourth.

As for the No. 5 car and Kasey Kahne representing the Team Stream app for Bleacher Report, an early incident forced the team out of contention early, but Kahne ended up finishing fifth.

Even Dale Earnhardt Jr. was excited about Bleacher Report as a sponsor:

Here are the full results for the 2014 Quicken Loans 400:

Full 2014 Quicken Loans 400 Results
Finish Driver
1Jimmie Johnson
2Kevin Harvick
3Brad Keselowski
4Paul Menard
5Kasey Kahne
6Jeff Gordon
7Dale Earnhardt Jr.
8Kyle Larson
9Joey Logano
10Clint Bowyer
11Tony Stewart
12Jamie McMurray
13Kurt Busch
14Matt Kenseth
15Ryan Newman
16Justin Allgaier
17Danica Patrick
18Juan Pablo Montoya
19Trevor Bayne
20Greg Biffle
21Michael Annett
22AJ Allmendinger
23Carl Edwards
24Casey Mears
25Marcos Ambrose
26David Gilliland
27Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
28Cole Whitt
29Denny Hamlin
30Austin Dillon
31Aric Almirola
32Reed Sorenson
33Josh Wise
34Brett Moffitt
35Landon Cassill
36J.J. Yeley
37Martin Truex Jr.
38David Ragan
39David Stremme
40Alex Bowman
41Kyle Busch
42Brian Vickers
43Travis Kvapil

BROOKLYN, MI - JUNE 13:  Kevin Harvick, driver of the #4 Budweiser Chevrolet, poses with son Keelan and the Pole Award after qualifying for the pole for the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Quicken Loans 400 at Michigan International Speedway o
Patrick Smith/Getty Images

Harvick and the No. 4 team won the pole at Michigan with a track-record 204.557 mph qualifying lap, but the race hardly got started before the first caution flag of the day flew on Lap 1.

Brian Vickers and the No. 55 car got loose and spun off Turn 4. While he avoided serious damage from the wall and other cars initially, he slid across the track and collided heavily with Travis Kvapil in the No. 32 car.'videoId=3623970502001

The caution once again flew on Lap 7. Rookie Kyle Larson and the No. 42 car smacked the wall and caused a chain reaction that collected Kahne.'videoId=3623977187001

The race remained clean for an extended run that forced green-flag pit stops to occur starting at around Lap 40. Once the stops cycled through, Jeff Gordon and the No. 24 car took the lead.

As is typical for Michigan, the racing was clean throughout most of the green-flag run, but the caution flag once again flew at Lap 72. Jimmie Johnson and the No. 48 team won the race off pit road, but it wasn't long into the next run that Joey Logano and the No. 22 team sat in first.

Another caution came on Lap 103 when David Ragan spun on the backstretch, giving Kahne the lucky-dog pass and putting him back on the lead lap.

Two more yellow flags over the next 20 laps forced the field to stay close together and would not allow any of the contending drivers to stretch out a lead. Coming off the pits, it was Logano who once again took the lead.

Larson received a pit-road penalty, forcing him to start 19th when the green flag dropped.'videoId=3624037907001

Johnson took the lead off the restart, and the race stayed incident-free until the teams once again began cycling through green-flag pit stops. With 30 laps remaining, Kurt Busch held the lead.

On Lap 182, Kahne and the Team Stream-sponsored No. 5 car took the lead. It was a short-lived lead, as Kahne needed to pit, but it was a great moment for the team.

After the green-flag stops cycled through, Johnson moved out in front for the remainder of the race.

2014 NASCAR Sprint Series Standings
Rank Driver Points
1Jeff Gordon537
2Jimmie Johnson522
3Dale Earnhardt Jr.514
4Matt Kenseth513
5Brad Keselowski490
6Carl Edwards462
7Joey Logano454
8Kyle Larson454
9Kevin Harvick447
10Kyle Busch446
11 Ryan Newman440
12 Denny Hamlin435
13 Paul Menard420
14 Clint Bowyer417
15 Greg Biffle409
16 Tony Stewart402

After another great race at Michigan International Speedway, the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series schedule moves on as drivers and their teams head to the Sonoma Raceway next week for the Toyota/Save Mart 350.

The race from California will take place on Sunday at 3 p.m. ET and will be televised on TNT. Martin Truex Jr. was the 2013 race champion.

While there are many traditionalist NASCAR fans who don't like the road courses on the schedule, the race at Sonoma is a great chance to see the big stock cars take on the same style of courses as the other big brands like Formula One and IndyCar.

With former track champions such as Clint Bowyer, Kurt Busch, Johnson, Kahne and Kyle Busch all expected in the field for next Sunday's event, the hunt to make the Chase for the Sprint Cup championship is starting to heat up.


*All stats via


    Jags-Vikes Is the SB We Don't Want, but Probably Deserve

    Featured logo

    Jags-Vikes Is the SB We Don't Want, but Probably Deserve

    Mike Tanier
    via Bleacher Report

    Frosh Only NBA Scouts Are Talking About

    Featured logo

    Frosh Only NBA Scouts Are Talking About

    Jonathan Wasserman
    via Bleacher Report

    Realistic NBA Trades Based Off Latest Buzz

    Featured logo

    Realistic NBA Trades Based Off Latest Buzz

    Dan Favale
    via Bleacher Report

    How Cubs Can Win Now and Still Get Bryce

    Featured logo

    How Cubs Can Win Now and Still Get Bryce

    Zachary D. Rymer
    via Bleacher Report