Phillies' Jimmy Rollins Breaks Mike Schmidt's All-Time Franchise Hits Record

Bleacher Report MilestonesB/R StaffJune 16, 2014

Philadelphia Phillies' Jimmy Rollins, right, celebrates his single with former Phillies' Mike Schmidt, left, during the fifth inning of a baseball game against the Chicago Cubs, Saturday, June 14, 2014, in Philadelphia. This single gives Jimmy Rollins the all time hits mark for the Philadelphia Phillies over Mike Schmidt. (AP Photo/Chris Szagola)
Chris Szagola/Associated Press

Philadelphia Phillies shortstop Jimmy Rollins recorded a single in the fifth inning of Saturday's game against the Chicago Cubs to pass Mike Schmidt for the most hits in franchise history, per's Todd Zolecki. 

The hit was No. 2,235 of Rollins' career, and he added No. 2,236 in Sunday's 3-0 loss to the Cubs.

Rollins singled sharply to right field off Cubs starter Edwin Jackson for the record-breaking hit in an eventual 7-4 Phillies victory. The game was stopped momentarily as Philadelphia's crowd gave the 35-year-old shortstop a standing ovation, followed by Schmidt walking onto the field to offer his personal congratulations.

Rollins, now in his 15th season, has played every game of his major league career with the Phillies.

Schmidt, who also spent his career with the Phillies, was a 12-time All-Star in 18 seasons and won the National League MVP award three times (1980, 1981, 1986). He was the World Series MVP in 1980 when the Phillies beat the Kansas City Royals in six games for the first of two championships in the franchise's history.

Twenty-five years after his retirement in 1989, Schmidt is still the club's all-time leader in home runs (548), RBI (1595) and runs scored (1,506). He was a first-ballot Hall of Fame selection in 1995 with a rare 96.5 percent of the vote, per

In addition to being the career leader in hits, Rollins is the Phillies' leader in doubles (466), ranks second in stolen bases (436) and third in runs (1,281). He has been selected to the All-Star game three times and also collected a National League MVP trophy in 2007.