Should Spain's Diego Costa Have Been Sent off for This Headbutt?

Will Tidey@willtideySenior Manager, GlobalJune 13, 2014

SALVADOR, BRAZIL - JUNE 13:  Diego Costa of Spain reacts after as referee Nicola Rizzola speaks to Ron Vlaar of the Netherlands during the 2014 FIFA World Cup Brazil Group B match between Spain and Netherlands at Arena Fonte Nova on June 13, 2014 in Salvador, Brazil.  (Photo by David Ramos/Getty Images)
David Ramos/Getty Images

Spain striker Diego Costa was playing his first competitive match for the nation in their World Cup opener against Netherlands.

It wasn't the best of evenings for the powerful forward. He failed to score and also appeared to lose his patience in this incident with Bruno Martins Indi.

No card was forthcoming, but should Costa have been sent off?

Related

    Harden 3 in Steph's Eye Ices Dubs ❄️

    Featured logo
    Featured

    Harden 3 in Steph's Eye Ices Dubs ❄️

    Maurice Moton
    via Bleacher Report

    Miocic Cements Place in UFC History

    Featured logo
    Featured

    Miocic Cements Place in UFC History

    Jeremy Botter
    via Bleacher Report

    Zion Williamson Commits to Duke

    Featured logo
    Featured

    Zion Williamson Commits to Duke

    Alec Nathan
    via Bleacher Report

    Expert NFL Championship Picks and Predictions

    Featured logo
    Featured

    Expert NFL Championship Picks and Predictions

    Gary Davenport
    via Bleacher Report