Did Fred Dive to Win Brazil Penalty vs. Croatia in World Cup Opener?

Will Tidey@willtideySenior Manager, GlobalJune 12, 2014

Bleacher Report

We have our first big controversy of the World Cup after referee Yuichi Nishimura awarded Brazil a penalty against Croatia in the opening match.

Did Dejan Lovren really commit a foul on Fred—one worthy of a yellow card, no less?

Univision

Neymar stepped up to score from 12 yards and Brazil went on to win 3-1, but there will be many questioning the validity of the call.

Here's what Croatia coach Niko Kovac had to say about it afterwards, as per the Yorkshire Post.

If that’s how we start the World Cup, we’d better give it up now and go home. We talk about respect, that wasn’t respect, Croatia didn’t get any. If that's a penalty, we don't need to play football anymore. Let's play basketball instead. It's a shame.

In the aftermath, Brazil coach Luiz Felipe Scolari argued that it was indeed the correct decision to award the penalty, per Sportal.com.

For me it was a penalty, there are things that everyone interprets differently. It is the interpretation of the referee. 

I have seen it repeated 10 times on TV.

Related

    Hot Takes: Low's Squad Choices Nearly Cost Germany

    World Football logo
    World Football

    Hot Takes: Low's Squad Choices Nearly Cost Germany

    Gianni Verschueren
    via Bleacher Report

    Why Ozil Will Always Be a Scapegoat

    World Football logo
    World Football

    Why Ozil Will Always Be a Scapegoat

    Dean Jones
    via Bleacher Report

    Hot Takes: Mexico's Vela Is Finally Realising His Potential

    World Football logo
    World Football

    Hot Takes: Mexico's Vela Is Finally Realising His Potential

    James Dudko
    via Bleacher Report

    Why 'Chucky' Lozano's the Real FIFA GOAT 🇲🇽

    World Football logo
    World Football

    Why 'Chucky' Lozano's the Real FIFA GOAT 🇲🇽

    B/R Video
    via Bleacher Report