Andrew D. Bernstein/Getty Images
There's no doubt that Henrik Lundqvist was rattled by Los Angeles' third goal on Saturday.
With the Rangers holding a 4-2 lead, Dwight King was screening in front of the net when he tipped a Matt Greene shot past Lundqvist. With Ryan McDonagh leaning on him, King made contact with the goaltender, but referee Dan O'Halloran ruled that the contact came after the puck passed Lundqvist.
"I don't buy it," Lundqvist said, per Dan Rosen of NHL.com. "That's a wrist shot that I'm just going to reach out for and I can't move. It's a different game after that. It's such an important play in the game." Lundqvist also said he didn't think the play was a penalty, but that the whistle should have been blown because he wasn't able to move in his crease.
He's not the first goalie to dispute an interference call, and he won't be the last, but the veteran should be well-aware that nothing positive will result from getting wound up about the situation. Lundqvist continued to berate the officials during the next few play stoppages, and the incident was probably still on his mind when Marian Gaborik potted the Kings' game-tying goal just over five minutes later.
Lundqvist tried to get his measure of revenge late in the first overtime with a soccer-style flop after being bumped by Jeff Carter outside the crease, but the Rangers didn't generate a single shot on the ensuing power play.
"You have to move on; it's a game," Lundqvist said afterward, trying to get back into the typical hockey mindset. "Obviously, the difference is not very big."
My colleague Dave Lozo emphasized the netminder's importance to the Rangers, writing, "For the Rangers to win this series, a lot was going to be asked of Lundqvist. He hasn’t answered enough."
Lundqvist's lack of focus did cost his team in Game 2. He has a tendency to come back strong after tough outings, so expect to see his steely determination on full display at MSG on Monday.