Epsom Derby 2014 Results: Winner, Payouts and Order of Finish

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more stories
Epsom Derby 2014 Results: Winner, Payouts and Order of Finish
Alan Crowhurst/Getty Images

The pre-race favourite, Australia, romped home to win the 235th Derby at Epsom on Saturday. Joseph O'Brien was the winning jockey, and he was able to steer the horse home by a length, with Kingston Hill and Romsdal finishing in second and third place respectively over the 12-furlong course.

Here's the result confirmed by Coral:

It was a momentous day for trainer Aiden O'Brien, who became the first trainer in history to train three consecutive winners of the legendary race. Here's how all 16 horses fared in the blue ribbon event of the flat racing calendar:

Epsom Derby 2014
Position Horse Jockey Trainer
1 Australia Joseph O'Brien A P O'Brien
2 Kingston Hill Andrea Atzeni Roger Varian
3 Romsdal Richard Hughes John Gosden
4 Arod Jamie Spencer Peter Chapple-Hyam
5 Red Galileo Oisin Murphy Ed Dunlop
6 Western Hymn William Buick John Gosden
7 True Story Kieren Fallon Saeed bin Suroor
8 Fascinating Rock Pat Smullen D K Weld
9 Ebanoran Declan McDonogh John M Oxx
10 Kingfisher C O'Donoghue A P O'Brien
11 Impulsive Moment David Probert Andrew Balding
12 Orchestra Seamie Heffernan A P O'Brien
13 Our Channel Silvestre De Sousa William Haggas
14 Pinzolo James Doyle Charlie Appleby
15 Sudden Wonder Kevin Manning Charlie Appleby
16 Geoffrey Chaucer Ryan Moore A P O'Brien

Racing Post

The Derby remains one of the most hotly anticipated races on the planet, and Her Majesty The Queen was in attendance at Epsom to take in the spectacle, as noted here by Hanleyontheball:

A heavy downpour early in the morning looked as though things would become a lot more difficult for Australia—a horse who prepares good ground—but that ceased after just half an hour. The ground was declared as good ahead of the race, and as the 4 p.m. start time edged closer, Epsom was basking in the glow of glorious sunshine.

The money ahead of the race was naturally coming in for Australia, with legendary trainer O’Brien chasing a trio of consecutive wins in the showpiece after victories for Camelot and Ruler Of The World in 2012 and 2013 respectively.

Despite the calibre of horses that had come through his Ballydoyle stable down the years, trainer O’Brien said of Australia that they've “never had a horse like this,” per Sky Sports, and in the parade ring ahead of the race, he looked imperious, as can be seen here courtesy of Champion Series:

All 16 horses made their way into the stalls fine, and they began the race along the initial uphill phase of the course in a tight cluster. The race continued at a blistering pace throughout the middle sector, with Australia around about fifth place but loitering with intent.

As the horses made their way round the last bend, his quality showed. Jockey O'Brien had positioned Australia in a wonderful position with space to move into, and he glided up the outside to overhaul Kingston Hull and take the victory. The horse became the 18th Irish winner of the Derby and the 12th of those to come from the famous Ballydoyle stable.

The winning jockey was quick to pay tribute to Australia, as noted here by Channel 4 Racing:

In typical fashion, the winning trainer was quick to acknowledge the work done by all but himself, but he too emphasised the quality of the horse, again, courtesy of Channel 4 Racing:

Australia eventually came home at a price of 11/8, with Kingston Hill at 15/2 and Romsdal at 20/1, per BBC Sport.

The next step for this remarkable horse could be the Irish Derby, which O'Brien has never won.

But after establishing his pedigree in the 2,000 Guineas at Newmarket last month and being tailored for the longer Derby distance this weekend, the horse has showcased not only his pace, but his ability to adapt to any distance one mile and upwards. He'll have plenty of options going forward.

Follow B/R on Facebook

Horse Racing

Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.