2014 Belmont StakesDownload App

Belmont Stakes 2014 Post Time: Live Stream and TV Schedule for Draw

May 20, 2014; Elmont, NY, USA;  California Chrome is led to the barn after arriving in advance of the Belmont Stakes at Belmont Park. Mandatory Credit: Anthony Gruppuso-USA TODAY Sports
David DanielsSenior Writer IJune 3, 2014

Odds could change at the 2014 Belmont Stakes post position draw time.

Right now, 2014 Kentucky Derby and Preakness Stakes champion California Chrome is a heavy 1-1 favorite to win the Belmont and complete the Triple Crown. Top contenders to pull off an upset are Ride on Curlin with 5-1 odds, Commanding Curve and Tonalist with 15-2, and Wicked Strong with 9-1, according to Odds Shark.

However, horses have had so much more success in certain Belmont post positions than others that the draw could significantly alter these odds. Here's how to watch it.


TV Schedule

When: Wednesday, June 4 at 11 a.m. ET

Where: HRTV, TVG

Live Stream: belmontstakes.com

Since 1905, the further inside a horse has started in the Belmont, the better. Post position isn't a direct correlation to how well a horse runs, but a trend certainly exists.

Twenty-three Belmont champions have started in post position No. 1. That's eight more champions than any other post position. The advantage is undeniable.

If California Chrome draws the No. 1 post position, his odds will soar even higher. But if he doesn't, plenty of success has come elsewhere.

9 Jun, 2001:   Winner Point Given (far left, stall 9) with Gary Stevens up at the start of the 133rd running of the Belmont Stakes in Elmont, New York.   Digital Image.  Mandatory Credit: Jamie Squire/ALLSPORT
Jamie Squire/Getty Images

Eleven Belmont champions have started in post position No. 2, 15 in No. 3, 10 in No. 4, 14 in No. 5, 7 in No. 6 and 13 in No. 7. While there's a notable gap in victories over the years between post position No. 1 and the rest of them, Nos. 2-7 have brought similar success. After that, though, it begins to drop off again.

Only six Belmont champions have started in post position No. 8, four in No. 9, two in No. 10 as well as 11, and it took until last year for a horse, Palace Malice, to win in No. 12.

Of course, a dozen horses don't always race. There have been two instances since 1905 in which only two horses competed. But fields of 14 and 15 have also happened.

Thirteen horses will race this year. And while it isn't impossible to win on the outside, it's more challenging.


David Daniels is a columnist at Bleacher Report and editor at Wade-O Radio.

Where can I comment?

Stay on your game

Latest news, insights, and forecasts on your teams across leagues.

Choose Teams
Get it on the App StoreGet it on Google Play

Real-time news for your teams right on your mobile device.

Copyright © 2017 Bleacher Report, Inc. Turner Broadcasting System, Inc. All Rights Reserved. BleacherReport.com is part of Bleacher Report – Turner Sports Network, part of the Turner Sports and Entertainment Network. Certain photos copyright © 2017 Getty Images. Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of Getty Images is strictly prohibited. AdChoices