Predicting the Top 10 World Cup 2014 Goalscorers

« Prev
1 of 11
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
Predicting the Top 10 World Cup 2014 Goalscorers
Harold Cunningham/Getty Images

The World Cup's Golden Boot is one of the most prestigious individual accolades in international football.

Some of the game's greatest forwards have crowned distinguished careers by topping the scoring charts on FIFA's grandest stage.

This year, two of modern football's greatest and most prolific forwards will target the 2014 trophy, in Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi—a win for either would help complete their legacy.

Looking back at previous winners, most recipients tend to reach a tournament's latter stages.

Since the format grew to a 32-team event in 1998, every Golden Boot winner has been a semi-finalist, at worst.

Aside from Oleg Salenko in 1994, each of the past six winners have made the final four, and just five goals were enough to collect the past two awards.

Keeping this in mind, here's a look at the potential top 10 goalscorers at World Cup 2014each looking to follow in the footsteps of Ronaldo, Mario Kempes, Gerd Muller and Eusebio. 

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook

World Football

Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.