Chennai Super Kings vs. Mumbai, IPL 7 Eliminator: Highlights, Scorecard, Report

Will TideySenior Manager, GlobalMay 28, 2014

India's Suresh Raina plays a shot during their ICC Twenty20 Cricket World Cup semifinal match against South Africa in Dhaka, Bangladesh, Friday, April 4, 2014.(AP Photo/A.M. Ahad)
A.M. Ahad/Associated Press

Chennai Super Kings beat Mumbai Indians by seven wickets on Wednesday, to set up a showdown with Kings XI Punjab on Friday and stand one win away from the 2014 Indian Premier League final.

The winner of that game will face Kolkata Knight Riders in Sunday's final, who earned their spot earlier on Wednesday with a victory against Kings XI.

The Super Kings and Indians faced off in an eliminator at Brabourne Stadium in Mumbai, with both sides knowing defeat would end their interest in this season's tournament.

Chennai won the toss and elected to field, only to watch Mumbai openers Lendl Simmons and Michael Hussey put on 76 for the first wicket.

Australian Hussey fell to Ravindra Jadeja in the 10th over to break their partnership, but Simmons stayed put until the 17th to score 67 from 44 balls—including five fours and four sixes.

No other Mumbai batsman could truly get going, however. Mohit Sharma took 3-42 for the Super Kings and Jadeja 2-31, as they picked up wickets in the middle order and kept things reasonably tight.

Mumbai Indians, 173-8 (20 overs)
Lendl Simmonsc Suresh Raina b Ravindra Jadeja6744152.2754
Michael Husseyb Ravindra Jadeja3933118.1841
Corey Andersonc Ishwar Pandey b Ravichandran Ashwin2010200.0012
Rohit Sharmac Brendon McCullum b Mohit Sharma2016125.0030
Kieron Pollardc Mohit Sharma b Ashish Nehra148175.0011
Ambati Rayuduc David Hussey b Mohit Sharma2366.6600
Aditya Tarec Francois du Plessis b Ashish Nehra010.0000
Harbhajan SinghNOT OUT72350.0001
Praveen Kumarb Mohit Sharma1250.0000
Pragyan OjhaNOT OUT11100.0000
EXTRAS (lb 2)2 (lb 2)
Ashish Nehra43428.509
Ishwar Pandey32508.336
Mohit Sharma442310.507
Ravichandran Ashwin42616.5012
Ravindra Jadeja43127.756
Suresh Raina113013.001

The Super Kings' reply began with a strong stand between Dwayne Smith and Francois du Plessis, before both openers were dismissed by Harbhajan Singh. 

That brought to the crease Suresh Raina, who would score an unbeaten 54 from 32 balls and lead the Super Kings' charge to victory.

An unbeaten 40 from David Hussey provided further momentum, as the Super Kings reached their target with eight balls to spare.

Chennai Super Kings, 176-3 (18.4 overs)
Dwayne Smithc Kieron Pollard b Harbhajan Singh2420120.0040
Francois du Plessisc sub (Ben Dunk) b Harbhajan Singh3520175.0051
Suresh RainaNOT OUT5432168.7542
Brendon McCullumst Aditya Tare b Pragyan Ojha1411127.2702
David HusseyNOT OUT4029137.9323
EXTRAS (w 6, lb 3)99
Praveen Kumar42706.756
Corey Anderson335011.664
Jasprit Bumrah3.440010.908
Harbhajan Singh42726.7510
Pragyan Ojha334111.336
Kieron Pollard110010.001

All thoughts now turn to Friday's clash with Kings XI Punjab, as a place in Sunday's showpiece final awaits the winner.