Robbie Lawler vs. Matt Brown Headlines UFC on Fox 12

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more stories
Robbie Lawler vs. Matt Brown Headlines UFC on Fox 12
USA Today

Most of the card has been announced, but the main event for UFC on Fox 12 has finally been set in stone.

UFC President Dana White announced on Twitter today that welterweight contenders Robbie Lawler and Matt Brown will fight in the main slot. Not only that, but the winner will earn the next title shot at current UFC welterweight champion Johny Hendricks.

This is significant news that could make this UFC on Fox one of the most watched in the history of the Fox series. This could be in response to the last event pulling in the lowest numbers in the history of the Fox cards.

As for the matchup, this bout is going to be anything but boring. Both Lawler and Brown consistently bring excitement to the cage and have the corresponding styles to make this a contender for Fight of the Year.

Lawler challenged for the vacant welterweight title back in March, fighting a close, competitive bout with Hendricks. He dropped a unanimous decision in a bout which could have gone either way.

However, Lawler came back strong over the weekend at UFC 173, outclassing Jake Ellenberger to a third-round stoppage from strikes. He used sturdy takedown defense and superior striking to keep Ellenberger on the feet and eventually put him down.

As for Brown, he has gone on an impressive seven-fight win streak that has put him in the title picture. Six of those seven wins were via knockout, including his most recent outing, a Fight of the Night against fellow headliner Erick Silva.

For Lawler, this match represents the chance to rematch Hendricks and possibly earn the title. For Brown, this fight is the final stop on his unlikely run at the title.

Stay tuned with Bleacher Report for further updates. Here is the updated card.

Weight Class Fighter #1 Fighter #2
Welterweight Robbie Lawler Matt Brown
Light Heavyweight Anthony Johnson Antonio Rogerio Nogueira
Lightweight Josh Thomson Michael Johnson
Featherweight Clay Guida Dennis Bermudez
Lightweight Jorge Masvidal Daron Cruickshank
Welterweight Tim Means Hernani Perpetuo
Welterweight Gilbert Burns Andreas Stahl
Featherweight Steven Siler Noad Lahat
Lightweight Tiago dos Santos Akbarh Arreola

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.